Skip to content

Oh no! The bullies have gotten to Joey Votto!

Nov 23, 2010, 9:58 AM EDT

joey-votto-reds Getty Images

Here’s Joey Votto, talking yesterday about how he stacked up against Albert Pujols after beating him out for the MVP award:

“I said, ‘Holy cow. He beat me in a lot of them.’ He beat me in runs, RBIs and home runs and a couple others. I had a better batting average, but we all kind of know that that’s an over-rated statistic. I was a pretty efficient player. I think I had the highest on-base percentage in baseball  and led tine National League in slugging.”

The bullies are at it again.  Or maybe the trendsetters. Could be either, really. That or the communists.

  1. BC - Nov 23, 2010 at 10:04 AM

    It’s all Nixon’s fault for taking us off the gold standard.

  2. Utley's Hair - Nov 23, 2010 at 11:39 AM

    Communists were just trendsetting bullies, weren’t they?

    • umrguy42 - Nov 23, 2010 at 2:44 PM

      Communism’s just a red herring.

      • Craig Calcaterra - Nov 23, 2010 at 2:48 PM

        Please tell me that was a “Clue” reference. Because that is one of my life’s all-time guilty pleasures.

      • umrguy42 - Nov 23, 2010 at 2:52 PM

        @Craig that was *absolutely* a “Clue” reference :p

  3. Glenn - Nov 23, 2010 at 11:54 AM

    Before we sabermetric fans start patting ourselves on the back so much that we cough up blood, let’s remember who won the American League Gold Glove at shortstop.

    • Utley's Hair - Nov 23, 2010 at 12:00 PM

      Won? Or got?

    • Kevin S. - Nov 23, 2010 at 12:33 PM

      I guess managers are just less susceptible to bullying.

      • tomemos - Nov 23, 2010 at 1:55 PM

        Of course, because all of them Played the Game. So they are automatically right about all baseball arguments.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2832)
  2. D. Span (2403)
  3. J. Fernandez (2310)
  4. G. Stanton (2306)
  5. F. Rodney (2139)
  1. G. Springer (2118)
  2. M. Teixeira (2023)
  3. Y. Puig (2007)
  4. G. Perkins (1946)
  5. H. Olivera (1834)