Skip to content

Vlad Guerrero wins yet another award he did not deserve

Nov 24, 2010, 5:09 PM EDT

World Series Rangers Giants Baseball

Vlad Guerrero has won the Edgar Martinez Award, which is given to the league’s best DH.  As Aaron pointed out back when Silver Sluggers were announced, Vlad had no business winning any awards that purport to honor the best DH. By all rights, David Ortiz deserved it. Aaron established that pretty conclusively. Of course, Ortiz won the thing every year from 2003 through 2007, so maybe they’re tired of him.

The bigger question: While Edgar Martinez is a fine person for this award to be named after, how did it not get a name until Martinez was venerable enough to deserve the honor?  Why wasn’t this, like, the Hal McRae award back in the early 80s?

  1. dondrapersops - Nov 24, 2010 at 5:38 PM

    I’m a Rangers fan, and I agree that he didn’t deserve either award. Maybe first half Vlad, but not full season/playoff Vlad…no frickin way.

  2. Mr. Jason "El Bravo" Heyward - Nov 24, 2010 at 5:42 PM

    He should have received the AL gold glove and everyone knows it.

    • hardjudge - Nov 24, 2010 at 5:47 PM

      Didnt know they gave a gold glove for DH!, lol.

      • Glenn - Nov 24, 2010 at 6:00 PM

        He deserved it for AL shortstop.

  3. mtner77 - Nov 24, 2010 at 6:02 PM

    ….”Didnt know they gave a gold glove for DH!, lol.”….

    They don’t. The point being that if they gave one to Jeter they will give one to anyone.

  4. jhu1997 - Nov 24, 2010 at 6:56 PM

    I can’t wait until they announce the NL results – will Dunn repeat?

  5. brianmatusz17 - Nov 24, 2010 at 7:58 PM

    no jeter will win every award else for nl,lmao!!!!

  6. NickT - Nov 26, 2010 at 3:13 AM

    As pointed out in the comments to the Gleeman article, Ortiz was not the best DH “By all rights.” A strong case could be made for Jim Thome, who had a higher WAR than either Vlad or Ortiz.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2975)
  2. D. Span (2526)
  3. G. Stanton (2459)
  4. J. Fernandez (2423)
  5. G. Springer (2399)
  1. Y. Puig (2305)
  2. F. Rodney (2207)
  3. M. Teixeira (2175)
  4. G. Perkins (2065)
  5. H. Olivera (1927)