Skip to content

Report: Pat Gillick is going to make the Hall of Fame

Dec 6, 2010, 9:34 AM EDT

Pat Gillick

The announcement of the Veteran’s Committee vote for the Hall of Fame is going to take place in about 20 minutes, but right now MLB Network Radio (on XM/Sirius) is reporting one electee: Former Jays and Phillies GM Pat Gillick.

Also on the ballot, of course, is Vida Blue, Dave Concepcion, Steve Garvey, Ron Guidry, Tommy John, Al Oliver, Ted Simmons, Rusty Staub, Billy Martin, Marvin Miller and — oh yeah — George Steinbrenner.

The stage where the announcement will be is approximately 75 feet to my right.  If Marvin Miller doesn’t  make it I might be forced to storm the stage, Kanye-style.

  1. BC - Dec 6, 2010 at 9:56 AM

    Miller and Steinbrenner should both make it.

  2. bloodysock - Dec 6, 2010 at 10:02 AM

    “Yo Hank, I’m really happy for you and your father. I ma let you finish, but Miller had one of the best executive careers of all time. One of the best careers of all time!”

  3. dasher521 - Dec 6, 2010 at 10:16 AM

    Miller should make it, as should Gillick. I hope Steinbrenner doesn’t make it this year. He deserves to be in, but it should be down the road. Joe Jackson and Pete Rose aren’t in due to breaking baseball rules and laws. So did George. And, yes he did good, too. Without the players, he is a ship building tycoon. His “monument” shouldn’t be larger than those of the players.

  4. largebill - Dec 6, 2010 at 11:14 AM

    It wouldn’t ruin my day if they put Miller in, but I can not for the life of me understand all the silly media outrage over some lawyer not getting into the BASEBALL Hall of Fame. I’d say who cares, but I see who cares so I’m really asking why do you care so much?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2989)
  2. D. Span (2540)
  3. G. Stanton (2473)
  4. J. Fernandez (2443)
  5. G. Springer (2426)
  1. Y. Puig (2332)
  2. F. Rodney (2217)
  3. M. Teixeira (2192)
  4. G. Perkins (2075)
  5. H. Olivera (1955)