Skip to content

Giants offer to bring back World Series MVP Edgar Renteria as a bench player

Dec 9, 2010, 4:06 PM EDT

Renteria running

Last month the Giants declined their $10.5 million 2011 option on Edgar Renteria just three days after he was named World Series MVP, but John Shea of the San Francisco Chronicle reports they’ve offered him a one-year contract “to be a utility infielder.”

Renteria has never started a game at a position other than shortstop in his 15-year career and has also never been a backup when healthy, coming off the bench for just 46 of his 2,028 games.

According to Shea the deal would likely be for around $1 million after the Giants signed Miguel Tejada for $6.5 million to start at shortstop. Renteria would back him up and also could enter the mix at second base and third base in place of Freddy Sanchez or Pablo Sandoval. He hasn’t earned less than $2 million in a season since 1998 and has been paid at least $6 million in every season since 2002.

  1. Old Gator - Dec 9, 2010 at 4:17 PM

    Last year Matsui. This year Renteria. Being World Series MVP is a death sentence.

    • Jonny 5 - Dec 9, 2010 at 4:21 PM

      Yeah, And Hamels was the year before, and he got (shudder, shudder) married……

      Death sentence.

      • Jeremiah Graves - Dec 9, 2010 at 5:21 PM

        …yeah, but we’ve all seen his wife.

        If that’s a death sentence, sign me up!

  2. JBerardi - Dec 9, 2010 at 6:43 PM

    “…after the Giants signed Miguel Tejada for $6.5 million to start at shortstop.”

    I cannot believe this franchise won a World Series.

  3. rachelharold - Dec 10, 2010 at 5:12 AM

    Free Samples are offered for a limited time so when they are posted please take advantage of the offer before it is gone. Look online for “123 Get Samples” where I was able to get healthy product samples.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2573)
  2. D. Span (2391)
  3. G. Stanton (2373)
  4. Y. Puig (2314)
  5. J. Fernandez (2271)
  1. B. Crawford (2195)
  2. G. Springer (2132)
  3. M. Teixeira (2017)
  4. J. Hamilton (1902)
  5. M. Sano (1861)