Skip to content

The Astros sign Ryan Rowland-Smith

Dec 9, 2010, 11:34 AM EDT

Ryan Rowland-Smith AP

We interrupt the crazy Cliff Lee/Carl Crawford/Adrian Beltre chatter to tell you that the Astros have signed pitcher Ryan Rowland-Smith. That from Brian McTaggart of Yes, we realize that this isn’t an Earth-shattering signing, but it’s nice to have a transaction that doesn’t invoke the name of large, monied east coast teams.

Rowland-Smith had a couple of good years in Seattle, working out of the pen exclusively his first year, and then transitioning into a swingman (though usually a starter).  He hit a wall last year, however, culminating in a late July start in which he allowed 11 runs to the White Sox.  After a stint on the disabled list — which some of us thought was questionable — he returned for four more games in which he was at least serviceable.

If he can return to his pre-2010 form — he had a 4.57 ERA in 362 career innings — he’ll be a cheap and useful pickup for the Astros. If not, well, he’ll still be cheap.

  1. Brian - Dec 9, 2010 at 11:45 AM

    You mean he didn’t get a 7 year contract? He’s perverting the economics of baseball!!!!

  2. bloodysock - Dec 9, 2010 at 11:50 AM

    This is news because he’s probably the only free agent with a hypenated last name

  3. mtner77 - Dec 9, 2010 at 12:02 PM

    I am just happy that he won’t be pitching in Safeco this year. Nice guy. Horrible pitcher.

  4. IdahoMariner - Dec 9, 2010 at 12:31 PM

    Incredibly nice guy — I hope the change of scenery does him some good.

  5. Reflex - Dec 9, 2010 at 3:06 PM

    Was also going to say that he’s a very nice guy in person. I wish him well over there and I know a couple female friends who will be quite dissapointed in this. ;)

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Three legends off to Cooperstown
Top 10 MLB Player Searches