Skip to content

The Reds are probably stuck with Bronson Arroyo, for better or worse

Dec 11, 2010, 2:01 PM EDT

Bronson Arroyo throwing

The Reds inked Bronson Arroyo to a three-year, $35 million contract extension last week, but it turns out that similar to the contracts recently handed out to Carlos Pena, Paul Konerko and Juan Uribe, it includes some deferred money.

According to Ken Rosenthal of, Arroyo will earn $6.5 million next season and $7 million in 2012, which is actually a pretty nice bargain for the Reds moving forward. This sets Arroyo up to make $18 million in the final year of his contract in 2013, which sounds insane on the surface, but Rosenthal adds that all but $3 million will be deferred without interest.

And so, even though Arroyo didn’t receive an official no-trade clause, he really doesn’t need one. If he is traded, Rosenthal writes that the deferral would be voided and he will be paid his entire $18 million salary for 2013 upfront. That Cliff Lee fellow might start to look pretty good by comparison. Arroyo probably isn’t going anywhere, anyway, as he gains 10-and-5 rights next season.

  1. Adam - Dec 11, 2010 at 3:17 PM

    That’s a great deal for the Reds. To get 15 million deferred without interest is money in the bank.

    • D.J. Short - Dec 11, 2010 at 3:21 PM

      Team-friendly deal, no doubt. Hard to get too bent out of shape about a three-year deal.

  2. metalhead65 - Dec 11, 2010 at 4:21 PM

    seeing as he is the reds most dependable pitcher he is worth whatever they signed him for. at least with him you know what you are getting when he takes the mound. unlike quteo and the guy they traded josh hamilton for you can depend on him going at least 5 everytime out. he does have that one start a month or 2 where he gets shelled but unlike the other guys you know what you are going to get most nites.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2999)
  2. M. Teixeira (2444)
  3. G. Stanton (2403)
  4. H. Olivera (2365)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2335)
  1. J. Fernandez (2183)
  2. K. Medlen (2139)
  3. G. Perkins (2044)
  4. J. Eickhoff (2043)
  5. Y. Puig (1982)