Skip to content

Pirates sign first baseman Lyle Overbay to one-year contract

Dec 14, 2010, 1:47 PM EDT


Continuing their offseason plan of stockpiling mediocre veterans, the Pirates have agreed to terms with first baseman Lyle Overbay on a one-year, $5 million contract.

Overbay spent the past five seasons in Toronto, but the Blue Jays made no attempt to re-sign the 33-year-old after he hit just .243 with a .329 on-base percentage and .433 slugging percentage in 154 games this year.

He has a sub-.800 OPS in three of the past four seasons, has slugged above .500 just once in his career, and has the third-lowest OPS among the 19 first basemen to receive at least 1,500 plate appearances since 2008.

Overbay starting at first base likely means Garrett Jones and Matt Diaz will platoon in one outfield corner, with Jose Tabata playing every day in the other corner. Pittsburgh was already said to be aggressively shopping catcher/outfielder Ryan Doumit following the Diaz signing, so with the addition of Overbay pushing Jones to the outfield full time trading Doumit now seems even more likely.

  1. missthemexpos - Dec 14, 2010 at 2:09 PM

    Lyle had a great 1st year with the Jays, but since then he was a rally killer, soft fly outs, or the dreaded inning ending double play. Hopefully Lyle will bounce back, as he was a class act during his stay in Toronto.

  2. purnellmeagrejr - Dec 14, 2010 at 2:27 PM

    “Continuing their offseason plan of stockpiling mediocre veterans, ” what an excellent first phrase.

    Good job Aaron Gleeman.

  3. Mr. Jason "El Bravo" Heyward - Dec 14, 2010 at 3:23 PM


    1. Lyle Overbay is old as ballz
    2. Speaking of old ballz, Jamie Moyer has the oldest ballz.
    3. Jamie Moyer once played (is currently playing) for the Phillies.
    4. The Phillies just signed Cliff Lee’s average-aged ballz.
    5. Cliff Lee’s ballz are attached to Cliff Lee!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2518)
  2. C. Correa (2516)
  3. Y. Puig (2511)
  4. B. Crawford (2400)
  5. H. Pence (2272)
  1. G. Springer (2222)
  2. H. Ramirez (2156)
  3. M. Teixeira (2143)
  4. J. Hamilton (2126)
  5. J. Baez (2096)