Skip to content

Indians, Asdrubal Cabrera avoid arbitration with one-year deal

Jan 17, 2011, 9:32 PM EDT

Asdrubal Cabrera ap

The Indians and Asdrubal Cabrera avoided arbitration today by agreeing to a one-year contract. The Associated Press reports that the deal is worth $2.025 million.

Cabrera was arbitration-eligible for the first time this winter. The 25-year-old shortstop batted .276/.326/.346 with three home runs, 29 RBI, a .673 OPS and six stolen bases in 425 plate appearances with the Indians last season. He was limited to just 97 games due to a fractured left forearm which required surgery.

With Cabrera out of the way, the Indians still have Shin-Soo Choo, Rafael Perez and Chris Perez eligible for arbitration. It will be interesting to see if the Indians are able to make any headway on a multi-year contract with Choo, who is represented by Scott Boras.

  1. stankfinger - Jan 17, 2011 at 11:01 PM

    Greatest first name in sports since Ebenezer Ekuban (had his full name going for him though).

  2. brownsdog - Jan 18, 2011 at 5:18 AM

    This is an above average major league infielder who can run, hit, and field, producing consistently when playing on an everyday basis. I look forward to seeing him play a full season without major injury to see what he can do. Granted, there is a bit more challenge in showing up and excelling when you’re on a losing team, but Cabrera has the talent to pull together a young infield and help bring some timely hitting and respectability to a young, upcoming team like the Indians. He is worth the investment of a longer contract than a year – even with some guaranteed money offered to lock him up for awhile (3 years). Somewhere the Tribe has to offer some consistency to its core players in order to build a winner, and Asdrubal is a lower-risk gamble for them and their conservative payroll. So try and sign him (even with Boras representing him)!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2707)
  2. B. Crawford (2510)
  3. Y. Puig (2389)
  4. G. Springer (2269)
  5. C. Correa (2104)
  1. J. Fernandez (2080)
  2. D. Wright (2077)
  3. H. Ramirez (2075)
  4. J. Hamilton (2070)
  5. H. Pence (2004)