Skip to content

HBT Weekend Wrap

Jan 24, 2011, 6:23 AM EDT

2011 AFC Championship: New York Jets v Pittsburgh Steelers Getty Images

So hey, you catch the game last night? This giant dude in spandex pants totally threw a ball made of dead pork skin at another dude in shiny pants and then he ran super fast across a bunch of painted lines while more shiny-​​pant-​​wearing dudes chased him and leapt for his glis­tening spandex buttocks until he even­tually crossed this other line which is appar­ently magical and makes the crowd stand up, bump chests, and clink bud-​​lights with each other. PIGGERS ARE NUMBER ONE! PIGGERS ARE GONNA GO ALL THE WAY THIS YEAR!*

At least that’s what I took from yesterday. Maybe I’m just not getting it. Oh well.

Kind of a short list, but the rest of the weekend news involved some tepid Armando Galarraga trade rumors and some random arbitration-avoiding signings. Not the kind of stuff that excites a man.  Oh well. Pitchers and catchers report in three weeks.  We can tough it out until then, right?

*This, of course, comes from the greatest cartoon ever written about working at home.

  1. Rosenthals Speling Instrukter - Jan 24, 2011 at 8:05 AM

    I continue to not believe that someone not only took Vernon Wells and his contract, but that someone actually sent valuable players back to Toronto for him. It’s always possible that Wells wins the Triple Crown this year and carries the Angels to a world title, but really: is there any trade that, at the time it happened, looked worse than this one?

    Any trade the Pirates have made in the last dozen years?

    • BC - Jan 24, 2011 at 10:07 AM

      Or the Mets?

  2. hughhansen - Jan 24, 2011 at 12:26 PM

    You know what’s not fun or funny? Spelling it “Pfun Pfact.”

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2744)
  2. Y. Puig (2414)
  3. G. Stanton (2360)
  4. C. Correa (2354)
  5. G. Springer (2263)
  1. H. Pence (2171)
  2. J. Hamilton (2079)
  3. M. Teixeira (1873)
  4. H. Ramirez (1865)
  5. J. Fernandez (1849)