Skip to content

The McCourt drama may not be over for a looooong time

Jan 25, 2011, 4:01 PM EDT

McCourt Divorce Trial Continues With Ownership Of Dodgers In Contention Getty Images

Bill Shaikin of the Los Angeles Times — who has been all over the McCourts divorce saga since it began — has an update. And it’s not rosy.

Jamie McCourt wants to be considered Frank’s co-owner of the Dodgers. Frank wants no part of it and is going to try to string out the litigation as long as possible. Each side is going to wait for someone, be it FOX or Major League Baseball to come forward some assurances before any kind of settlement talks will happen. The specter of an indefinite Frank-Jamie co-ownership until such time the kids can take over is raised.

The upshot: we’re looking at least another year of McCourt-inspired limbo, complete with the same gagging debt-load and, I presume, the same gossipy mini-scandals popping up every few months.

Read Shaikin’s report for the whole picture. As is often the case with the McCourts, the situation is kind of messy and rambling, and Shaikin does a good job of pulling it together as much as possible.

  1. BC - Jan 25, 2011 at 4:16 PM

    With community property laws in California, wouldn’t she be the co-owner by default upon dissolution (given that neither she nor Frank have the cash to buy either other out)?

  2. hep3 - Jan 25, 2011 at 5:43 PM

    Is she related to Joan Rivers?

    • stankfinger - Jan 25, 2011 at 5:52 PM

      No, but Frank should be by proxy considering how much plastic sugery he’s had.

  3. koufaxmitzvah - Jan 25, 2011 at 7:09 PM

    The McCourts are delusional.

  4. giant4life - Jan 26, 2011 at 11:09 AM

    Sad. The only big $dollar news coming from the dodgers will be the naming of a new lawyer…. probably a switch hitter, with a three year contract.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2794)
  2. C. Correa (2533)
  3. Y. Puig (2492)
  4. G. Stanton (2438)
  5. G. Springer (2367)
  1. H. Pence (2283)
  2. J. Hamilton (2170)
  3. M. Teixeira (1958)
  4. H. Ramirez (1933)
  5. J. Fernandez (1902)