Skip to content

White Sox sign Lastings Milledge to a minor league contract

Feb 3, 2011, 1:45 PM EDT

Lastings Milledge AP

Lastings Milledge, who was last seen getting into a winter league brawl in Venezuela, has agreed to a minor-league contract with the White Sox.

Milledge has gone from one-time top prospect to being non-tendered by the Pirates and unable to land a big-league deal, but he’s not even 26 years old yet and hasn’t been a total bum with a .269 batting average and .723 OPS in 1,655 career plate appearances.

He won’t have an opportunity to claim an everyday job in Chicago with Alex Rios, Carlos Quentin, and Juan Pierre set as the outfield starters, but Milledge would be a solid fit as a fourth outfielder who can offer plus defense in a corner spot and an .800 OPS versus left-handed pitching during the past three seasons.

  1. spudchukar - Feb 3, 2011 at 2:18 PM

    What, no Lastings Milledge love?

  2. purdueman - Feb 3, 2011 at 5:56 PM

    Outstanding pickup on the part of the White Sox! The White Sox will carry 12 pitchers, leaving the bench somewhat thin. With left handed hitting Mark Teahen already penciled in as being a “super-sub”, the team lacked a right handed bat off the bench. The other two candidates for the 25th man on the roster are Brett Lillibridge (who can’t hit his way out of a wet paper bag), and journeyman OF’er De Aza (a left handed hitter who spends more time every year on the injury list than on the field). Solid pickup with nothing but upside!

  3. fribnit - Feb 4, 2011 at 9:18 AM

    a real shame when you see someone with his talent failing to use it to its full potential.

    He has been an attitude and attention issue since he was in the minors. Maybe the White Sox can get more out of him than the Mets, Nats or Bucs did.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2492)
  2. G. Stanton (2477)
  3. Y. Puig (2459)
  4. B. Crawford (2348)
  5. H. Pence (2221)
  1. G. Springer (2189)
  2. M. Teixeira (2109)
  3. H. Ramirez (2099)
  4. J. Hamilton (2082)
  5. J. Baez (2059)