Skip to content

UPDATE: Mets sign Jason Isringhausen to minor league contract

Feb 15, 2011, 9:01 PM EDT

Jason Isringhausen AP

UPDATE: According to David Lennon of New York Newsday, the Mets have signed Jason Isringhausen to a minor league contract with an invite to big league camp.

12:50 PM: Last month Jason Isringhausen opted not to sign with the Reds after he threw a bullpen session for pitching coach Bryan Price, so today the 38-year-old former closer tried out for the Mets.

Isringhausen hasn’t pitched in the majors since undergoing Tommy John elbow surgery in mid-2009 and before that struggled with a 5.70 ERA in 43 innings for the Cardinals in 2008, but he was originally drafted by the Mets in 1991 and once upon a time was a top pitching prospect who debuted with New York as a starter in 1995.

Adam Rubin of reports that Isringhausen threw in front of Mets assistant general manager J.P. Ricciardi, who was in Oakland’s front office when Isringhausen was the A’s closer from 1999 to 2001. He has an “open invitation” to sign a minor-league deal with the Reds, but “wanted to go somewhere and see if I could make a team.”

  1. Old Gator - Feb 15, 2011 at 3:03 PM

    “Isringhausen” sounds like a great name for some recessive genetic syndrome, doesn’t it? Isringhausen’s porphyria. Isringhausen’s complain. Isringhousen-by-proxy syndrome.

    Save this thought. The more crap they put in our hamburgers, the more likely there’ll be some new dysfunction that’ll need a name some day.

    • Brian Murphy - Feb 15, 2011 at 9:14 PM

      I would have to guess they’d be an extension of the Munchausen family of disorders.

      • Old Gator - Feb 15, 2011 at 10:04 PM

        Probably, but only because there was no Minayahausen family of disorders in the first place.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2791)
  2. C. Correa (2513)
  3. Y. Puig (2478)
  4. G. Stanton (2426)
  5. G. Springer (2349)
  1. H. Pence (2269)
  2. J. Hamilton (2165)
  3. M. Teixeira (1950)
  4. H. Ramirez (1928)
  5. J. Fernandez (1899)