Skip to content

The Indians sign Chad Durbin to a one-year contract

Feb 26, 2011, 8:58 AM EDT

Philadelphia Phillies v San Francisco Giants, Game 4 Getty Images

According to Jerry Crasnick of, the Indians have reached agreement with Chad Durbin on a one-year contract, pending a physical. He’ll make a guaranteed salary of $800,000 with the chance for $1 million more in performance-based incentives.

Durbin was reportedly considering a return to Philadelphia as a non-roster invitee earlier this week if he didn’t receive a major league offer. He probably could have made a contending team out of spring training, but the Indians will give him the job security he desires.

The 33-year-old right-hander has compiled a 3.62 ERA over 226 innings in the past three seasons in Philadelphia, including a 3.80 ERA and 63/27 K/BB ratio across 68 2/3 innings last year.

Durbin is projected to set-up for young closer Chris Perez, but look for him to be a popular trade target around the deadline.

  1. davidw7 - Feb 26, 2011 at 9:28 AM

    Really didn’t see him joining the Indians. Considering what Relievers have been getting this off-season the Tribe have got themselves a bargain here. I’m guessing the extra million in incentives will be easier to reach than what some other teams put in contracts though.

  2. bigtrav425 - Feb 26, 2011 at 9:49 AM

    wow thats all he got? he did a pretty solid job last yr and thought he would get more.but it seems like everyone is going or has young guys this yr……Thinking i might have to pick him up on my fantasy team because he will prolly be the guy if/when Perez f’s up

  3. writtenbyross - Feb 26, 2011 at 10:45 AM

    Hopefully this goes better than his last stop in Cleveland. Logically it should, but I have to rely on (false) hope being that this is Cleveland.

  4. uyf1950 - Feb 26, 2011 at 3:04 PM

    I wonder if this take the Indians out of the running for Millwood?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3070)
  2. M. Teixeira (2457)
  3. G. Stanton (2448)
  4. H. Olivera (2377)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2346)
  1. J. Fernandez (2264)
  2. K. Medlen (2158)
  3. G. Perkins (2063)
  4. Y. Puig (2056)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2050)