Skip to content

Mariners acquire lefty Aaron Laffey from the Indians

Mar 2, 2011, 7:52 PM EDT

Cleveland Indians v Texas Rangers Getty Images

From Paul Hoynes of the Cleveland Plain Dealer comes word that the Indians have traded left-hander Aaron Laffey to the Mariners.

There’s no word yet on what the Tribe might be getting in return from the M’s, but we can safely guess that it won’t be much.

Laffey, a 16th-round pick in the 2003 MLB Amateur Draft, posted an underwhelming 4.53 ERA and 28/28 K/BB ratio in 55.2 innings for the Indians last season, serving as both a starter and reliever. His numbers will probably look a little better in Seattle, where Safeco Field can be awfully friendly to pitchers, but he is far from a promising pitcher.

The 25-year-old southpaw was being groomed as a potential member of the Indians’ starting rotation this spring in camp. It’s not yet clear how the Mariners will try to use him.

The trade cleared a spot on Cleveland’s 40-man roster for freshly-signed reliever Chad Durbin.

UPDATE: According to the Indians’ official Twitter feed, minor league utilityman Matt Lawson is headed to the Indians. A fellow 25-year-old, he posted an .811 OPS in 118 games at the Double-A level last season.

  1. bigtrav425 - Mar 2, 2011 at 8:00 PM

    Laffey is a solid pitcher even tho his numbers dont speak it. He just needs some D and some consistency on what he is he kept getting moved from reliever to starter and vice versa.He can be a 4 or 5 starter possibly if nto a solid reliever

  2. BC - Mar 2, 2011 at 9:07 PM

    This is hysterical. I saw the picture and headline at the top of the Hardball Talk page, and be ing at home and not having my glasses on, I was like, “The Red Sox traded John Lackey??!?”.
    It’s been a long day. But even I have to laugh at that one.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2965)
  2. D. Span (2510)
  3. G. Stanton (2433)
  4. J. Fernandez (2420)
  5. G. Springer (2380)
  1. Y. Puig (2286)
  2. F. Rodney (2201)
  3. M. Teixeira (2162)
  4. G. Perkins (2059)
  5. H. Olivera (1916)