Skip to content

Andrew Bailey diagnosed with strained right forearm

Mar 15, 2011, 7:45 PM EDT

Andrew Bailey Getty

It was easy to think the worst when Andrew Bailey crumpled down in pain on the mound yesterday, but a release from the Athletics this afternoon actually brings some good news.

Bailey was diagnosed with a strained right forearm following an examination by renowned orthopedist Dr. James Andrews. In other words, no structural damage was found and he will not require surgery.

According to the release, Bailey “experienced no swelling and can resume throwing when asymptomatic.”

Here’s reaction from Billy Beane:

“Any time a pitcher comes out of a game like Andrew did, you hold your breath,” said A’s Vice President and General Manager Billy Beane. “While there is no timetable on his return, this is welcome news.”

And so, Brian Fuentes or Grant Balfour might be closing games for the A’s to begin the season, but there’s a very good chance they’ll have their All-Star closer back before long. Perhaps now we can finally bury the assumption that every visit to Dr. Andrews results in bad news?

  1. apbaguy - Mar 15, 2011 at 8:51 PM

    No, every visit to Dr. Andrews isn’t bad news. It can be worse news, and terrible news also. Look, having to visit Andrews or Yocum means there is a problem. All that’s open to discussion is the degree of bad. In this case, it’s bad that Bailey won’t be closing to open the season. It could have been worse. It may still be worse if he fights this strain most of the year like Bret Anderson did last year.

  2. frankvzappa - Mar 15, 2011 at 9:42 PM

    what a puss

  3. okobojicat - Mar 15, 2011 at 10:17 PM

    You know the last guy to have a Strained Forearm diagnosed by Andrews? Francisco Liriano!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2779)
  2. C. Correa (2455)
  3. Y. Puig (2451)
  4. G. Stanton (2394)
  5. G. Springer (2315)
  1. H. Pence (2237)
  2. J. Hamilton (2127)
  3. M. Teixeira (1918)
  4. H. Ramirez (1910)
  5. J. Fernandez (1882)