Skip to content

No shock: Ricky Nolasco says he didn’t try to hit Nyjer Morgan

Mar 18, 2011, 5:17 PM EDT

Nyjer Morgan

Not that there was much doubt in the mind of anyone but Nyjer Morgan, but Ricky Nolasco made it pretty clear today that he didn’t intend to hit Morgan with a pitch earlier this week:

I don’t know what to tell Nyjer. I’m not trying to hit him. What’s happened last year is squashed. If I wanted to hit him, I’d hit him with the first pitch. And why am I going to hit somebody in my first start, trying to catch-up off an injury, on an 0-2 count to lead off the game? I don’t know what else to tell him for him to think differently. I don’t know. I can just tell you, “No, I did not try to hit him.”

I’m not sure how Nolasco actually said it, but I read “I don’t know what to tell Nyjer” in an exasperated tone, which is how a lot of people are increasingly feeling about Morgan on and off the field since around the middle of last season.

  1. Old Gator - Mar 18, 2011 at 5:28 PM

    Nolasco can afford to be generous with his exasperation. He hit another batter on the head in that game and generally exhibited as much ability to find the plate as a tourist driving in Paris for the first time looking for a small hotel in the 14th Arondissment without a dashboard GPS. Or maybe he just shares a general sense of relief with the rest of the Feesh that they finally won a game yesterday and Scrooge McLoria had nothing to kvetch about for a change.

  2. WhenMattStairsIsKing - Mar 18, 2011 at 5:48 PM

    Nyjer’s one more idiot baseball doesn’t need.

  3. Utley's Hair - Mar 18, 2011 at 5:55 PM

    My question is this: why DIDN’T he hit him with the first pitch? He’d get on first, and be thrown out trying to steal, therby keeping Nolasco’s pitch count down. Duh.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2823)
  2. C. Correa (2620)
  3. Y. Puig (2536)
  4. G. Stanton (2502)
  5. G. Springer (2441)
  1. H. Pence (2357)
  2. J. Hamilton (2205)
  3. M. Teixeira (2010)
  4. H. Ramirez (1984)
  5. J. Fernandez (1961)