Skip to content

Blue Jays make room for Octavio Dotel by sending Casey Janssen to Triple-A

Apr 7, 2011, 5:40 PM EDT


When it comes to demoting players to Triple-A sometimes having a minor-league option remaining takes precedence over everything else and Casey Janssen learned that the hard way today, as the Blue Jays sent him to Las Vegas to make room on the roster for Octavio Dotel‘s return from the disabled list.

Janssen certainly isn’t deserving of the demotion, as he’s a 29-year-old veteran who posted a 3.67 ERA and 63/21 K/BB ratio in 69 innings last season and has a career ERA of 3.10 in 146 relief outings.

However, with Dotel recovered from his hamstring injury Janssen finds himself the odd man out in Toronto’s deep, veteran-filled bullpen. He’ll be back soon enough, but it’s no doubt a frustrating situation for a setup-caliber reliever earning $1.1 million. He has no business being in the minors at age 29.

  1. proudlycanadian - Apr 7, 2011 at 5:48 PM

    Unfortunately, the Jays have a lot of depth in the bull pen. Another fine pitcher will have to be demoted when Francisco is activated. On the other hand, injuries are inevitable and Janssen will be back.
    A similar problem will occour when Morrow is activated. Litsch has outpitched Jo-Jo Reyes, but Reyes is out of options.

  2. cur68 - Apr 7, 2011 at 6:12 PM

    It’s great when your team has these kinds of troubles, isn’t it? 4 – 2 now and only barely lost this afternoon’s tilt too. 2nd time this season they came within a nard hair of winning and a sweep. Jose Bautista will be back soon and Escobar, too. With any luck at least of one of them for tomorrow night’s game with the Angels.

  3. uberfatty - Apr 7, 2011 at 8:14 PM

    Shouldn’t he be playing a prank on Dwight? #DunderMifflin

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2979)
  2. D. Span (2532)
  3. G. Stanton (2463)
  4. J. Fernandez (2431)
  5. G. Springer (2404)
  1. Y. Puig (2315)
  2. F. Rodney (2211)
  3. M. Teixeira (2180)
  4. G. Perkins (2067)
  5. H. Olivera (1938)