Skip to content

J.J. Hardy out 2-3 weeks with strained oblique muscle

Apr 11, 2011, 12:50 PM EDT

J.J. Hardy AP

J.J. Hardy is expected to miss 2-3 weeks after an MRI exam revealed a strained oblique muscle, which qualifies as good news considering the initial reports that he could miss six weeks. However, because oblique strains tend to linger 2-3 weeks is hardly a guaranteed return timetable.

Hardy played well for Minnesota last season, hitting .268 with a .714 OPS and his usual excellent defense at shortstop, but the Twins traded him to the Orioles in large part because he missed 61 games with injuries and was often scratched from the lineup even when not on the disabled list.

He lasted just six games before heading to the shelf in Baltimore, and while Hardy was plenty durable for the Brewers in 2007 and 2008 he’s definitely acquired the “injury prone” label at this point. An impending free agent earning $5.85 million this season, Hardy will be replaced in the lineup with fellow elite defender Cesar Izturis.

  1. steve keane - Apr 11, 2011 at 12:59 PM

    A Congressional hearing on oblique injuries in baseball is long overdue

    • Mr. Jason "El Bravo" Heyward - Apr 11, 2011 at 1:30 PM

      Seriously though!!!

  2. Vincent - Apr 11, 2011 at 1:03 PM

    Is it just me, or has anybody else’s oblique been bothering them lately?

  3. cur68 - Apr 11, 2011 at 1:21 PM

    My appendix is feeling tender. Should I worry?

  4. Panda Claus - Apr 11, 2011 at 3:03 PM

    If you are the one to start up the “MRIs R Us” chain, you’ll want to set up your first franchise in Baltimore.

    • randomdigits - Apr 11, 2011 at 3:16 PM

      I don’t know, the pace has actually slowed since they left Sarasota. I don’t think Duke is in town either.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2508)
  2. D. Span (2351)
  3. G. Stanton (2286)
  4. Y. Puig (2250)
  5. J. Fernandez (2209)
  1. B. Crawford (2091)
  2. G. Springer (2028)
  3. M. Teixeira (1827)
  4. M. Sano (1822)
  5. J. Hamilton (1753)