Skip to content

Alex Rodriguez aims to return to starting lineup Wednesday

Apr 19, 2011, 8:47 PM EDT

Texas Rangers v New York Yankees Getty Images

Alex Rodriguez was held out of the starting lineup tonight for the second straight day with continued soreness in his oblique/lower back, but told Wallace Matthews of ESPN New York that he expects to return for Wednesday’s finale against the Blue Jays.

“We decided to take one more day and play tomorrow,” Rodriguez said. “I think if it was different circumstances, in September in the middle of a pennant race, perhaps we could strap it on today. But I think we’re trying to be smart about it. We’re in the middle of April. Gun to the head, there’s no question I could probably strap it on today, but I think everyone’s opinion was to take one more day.”

Eric Chavez started at third base again tonight, while Robinson Cano was bumped up to the No. 2 spot in the lineup. We’ll see how Rodriguez feels tomorrow, but the Yankees could take advantage of a scheduled off-day on Thursday and rest him until Friday’s series opener against the Orioles.

Rodriguez is batting .385/.500/.821 with four homers, five doubles and nine RBI over his first 50 plate appearances this season.

  1. youcantpredictbaseball - Apr 19, 2011 at 8:51 PM

    Allow me to be the first immature pervert to laugh at “strap it on.”

    • Jeremiah Graves - Apr 19, 2011 at 9:18 PM

      Thank you for reading my mind.

  2. cur68 - Apr 19, 2011 at 11:21 PM

    Well maybe ARod should have grabbed his strap on. Blue Jays win, walk off style. Beat Mo & Nova to do it, too. I spent the entire 10 innings hating on Travis Snider and what does the baby faced little devil go an do? Only doubles off Nova to win it. Looking forward to ATH in the AM.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2831)
  2. C. Correa (2639)
  3. Y. Puig (2552)
  4. G. Stanton (2513)
  5. G. Springer (2475)
  1. H. Pence (2374)
  2. J. Hamilton (2219)
  3. H. Ramirez (2066)
  4. M. Teixeira (2027)
  5. J. Fernandez (1970)