Skip to content

Baseball announces expanded pension benefits for players who retired between 1947 and 1980

Apr 21, 2011, 5:58 PM EDT


Prior to 1980, players were vested in baseball’s pension plan after completing at least four years of service time. Since the 1980 season, all players are vested after just one day of service in the majors (as your service time increases, you get greater benefits).

Baseball and the MLBPA announced today that players who retired during the earlier period but had fewer than four years of service time will be getting retroactive benefits:

Players who retired between January 1, 1947 and January 1, 1980 with no retirement benefits for their Major League Service will receive an annual payment of up to $10,000, jointly funded by the Commissioner’s Office and the MLBPA. The collective bargaining parties have committed to these payments for an initial period of two years. Payments beyond the initial period will be discussed in collective bargaining.

That’s not a ton of money, but for the most part, guys who fell into that less-than-four-year hole didn’t make a lot of money either.

Regardless, it’s good to see Major League Baseball at least trying to take care of its own.

  1. spudchukar - Apr 21, 2011 at 6:00 PM

    So, So, Cool.

  2. sknut - Apr 21, 2011 at 11:00 PM

    MLB 1
    NFL -10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

    • Roger Moore - Apr 21, 2011 at 11:24 PM

      More like:

      MLBPA: 15
      NFLPA: -10000000

  3. JB (the original) - Apr 22, 2011 at 8:42 AM

    This is a good thing. I wonder how many guys that this would apply to? I mean, if you “retired” from baseball at age 25 in 1980, you’d be 55-56 years old now, and would be the very youngest of the retirees. If they did it linearly, ($10,000 / 162 games x 4 years = $15.43/game), a guy that was up for a week in ’62 might be looking at getting a check for $100 or so…..

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2572)
  2. D. Span (2391)
  3. G. Stanton (2370)
  4. Y. Puig (2313)
  5. J. Fernandez (2268)
  1. B. Crawford (2194)
  2. G. Springer (2129)
  3. M. Teixeira (2009)
  4. J. Hamilton (1896)
  5. M. Sano (1859)