Skip to content

Anibal Sanchez loses no-hitter in seventh

May 8, 2011, 3:00 PM EDT

Anibal Sanchez

3:10 p.m. EDT – So much for that.  Laynce Nix just delivered a line-drive single to right to start the seventh.  Mike Stanton got a great jump on the ball and could have had the diving catch, but the ball popped out as his glove hit the ground.


Another day, another no-hitter alert.

Anibal Sanchez, who threw a no-hitter as a rookie for the Marlins five years ago, has held the Nationals hitless through six.

One big problem: he’s at 97 pitches already, meaning he’s going to need a quick seventh inning to have any chance of going the distance.

Sanchez has 10 strikeouts on the day.  He hasn’t walked anyone, but he has hit a batter and he had Laynce Nix reach on an Omar Infante error back in the first inning.

Sanchez threw a one-hitter in a 4-1 complete-game victory over the Rockies back on April 22.  It’s his only win so far this season, though he entered the day with a respectable 4.15 ERA.

  1. Old Gator - May 8, 2011 at 10:06 PM

    Anibal can be unhittable on days like this. Days. Imagine how much harder it would have been to pick him up if he had pitched this way in a night game. He’s been a long time coming back from surgery but this could be a hell of a year for him – all we need is for the Feesh to score him some runs, like they did today, and for the boolpen, even if it has been playing over its head until recently, to hold a lead for him every so often.

    ‘Course if the Feesh keep treating RISP like visiting relatives, it could be a long summer for everyone. Hanley needs to stop looking up at the Mendoza line like a hypothetical integer in a differential equation. Today el capitano scrambled the lineup a bit and it paid off. Thank Buddha for Gaby Sanchez.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2604)
  2. G. Stanton (2438)
  3. D. Span (2412)
  4. Y. Puig (2365)
  5. J. Fernandez (2300)
  1. B. Crawford (2250)
  2. G. Springer (2195)
  3. M. Teixeira (2124)
  4. J. Hamilton (2059)
  5. H. Pence (1920)