Skip to content

Shane Victorino to miss time with hamstring injury

May 14, 2011, 4:56 PM EDT

Shane Victorino

Phillies center fielder Shane Victorino exited Saturday’s game in the eighth inning with hamstring soreness and said afterwards that he doesn’t expect to play Sunday.

According to Todd Zolecki on Twitter, Victorino said he didn’t think a DL stint would be necessary. However, he is likely to miss a couple of days due to the problem.

Even that’s a real problem for the Phillies, who aren’t carrying a legitimate backup center fielder. Rule 5 pick Michael Martinez was their starter the one day Victorino has had off all season. Ben Francisco used to play some center for the Indians, but he’s been limited to right field this year and even as the Phillies’ fourth outfielder throughout 2010, he player there just twice all season. John Mayberry Jr., who took over for Victorino today, has never started a game in center.

The Phillies used Jayson Werth in center when Victorino missed time last year. Obviously, that’s no longer an option.

With Roy Halladay starting Sunday, we’re guessing the Phillies will want their best defensive option out there. That probably means going back to Martinez, who is 4-for-21 with one RBI and no extra-base hits as a major leaguer.

  1. drmonkeyarmy - May 14, 2011 at 6:43 PM

    Martinez had a double today.

    • drmonkeyarmy - May 14, 2011 at 6:44 PM

      Nevermind….he in fact did not have a double today. There should be a way to delete or edit your posts. My mistake hardball talk nation.

  2. fist72 - May 14, 2011 at 8:08 PM

    Why do you need your best defensive option for ole Roy? He great without great defense behind him… Great post…

  3. bleedgreen - May 14, 2011 at 9:33 PM

    Not going to the DL? Like Ruiz wasn’t going to the DL? Or Roy Oswalt was fine? Or Utley was day to day?

    Or really not going on the DL?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. H. Ramirez (2401)
  2. G. Stanton (2359)
  3. G. Springer (2340)
  4. C. Correa (2320)
  5. J. Baez (2303)