Skip to content

Dillon Gee moves to 7-0 as Mets beat Pirates 8-1

Jun 10, 2011, 10:04 PM EDT

Dillon Gee Getty Images

Maybe it’s not quite the same as starting a career 7-0, but Dillon Gee‘s win tonight made him the first rookie to open a season 7-0 since Jered Weaver won nine in a row for the Angels after debuting in 2006.

Gee limited the Pirates to one run in a career-high eight innings as part of New York’s 8-1 victory. The Mets improved to 9-0 in his starts their season.  They’re 22-32 the rest of the time.

Gee went 2-2 after debuting last September, so he’s not perfect for his career.  However, he is technically a rookie and he’d surely be the choice for NL Rookie of the Year honors if the balloting were held today.  He has a 3.05 ERA in 62 innings for the season.  Excluding his three relief appearances, he’s at 2.67 in his nine starts.

Supporting Gee tonight were Jose Reyes, who went 3-for-5 and hit his second homer, and Angel Pagan, who tripled and doubled.  The Mets roughed up another one of the NL’s biggest surprises in Charlie Morton, sending him to the showers with his worst start of the season; he gave up seven runs — six earned — in four innings.

  1. takemytalentstosoutheuclid - Jun 11, 2011 at 9:12 AM

    Not sure if this guy is for real, or just a reflection of his competition. His wins have come against, well, not the best the NL has to offer….

    His 7 wins: 2 against Atlanta, 2 against Pittsburgh, 1 each against Washington, Chicago, and Houston.

  2. Reggie's Bush - Jun 11, 2011 at 9:26 AM

    We’re coming for you wild card!

  3. mrznyc - Jun 11, 2011 at 9:34 AM

    Mets seem to be doing just fine now that the Bernie Madoff mess has kept the idiots Wilpon away from any venue where reporters may be lurking, now if they’d just clear out for good maybe we’d have a chance to have a team once again.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2489)
  2. D. Span (2330)
  3. G. Stanton (2265)
  4. Y. Puig (2230)
  5. J. Fernandez (2184)
  1. B. Crawford (2032)
  2. G. Springer (2005)
  3. M. Sano (1807)
  4. M. Teixeira (1807)
  5. J. Hamilton (1730)