Skip to content

Even with DH available, Giants sit Pat Burrell

Jun 17, 2011, 8:30 PM EDT

Pat Burrell Getty Images

The Giants have Aubrey Huff in the DH spot tonight, with Pablo Sandoval at first and Miguel Tejada at third base.  Cody Ross, as usual, is playing left field, so Pat Burrell finds himself on the bench yet again.

Burrell is only getting occasional starts against left-handers at the moment.  And that does make some sense: the Giants are certainly better off defensively with Ross in left field and Nate Schierholtz in right, plus Burrell has hit lefties quite a bit better than righties over the course of his career.

This year, though, Burrell is hitting just .167/.259/.250 in 48 at-bats against lefties, compared to .255/.383/.489 in 94 at-bats against righties.

And with the DH spot available, playing Burrell should be a no-brainer for this Giants team that has struggled to score runs all year.  It’s hard to see why the team is still spending a roster spot on him if it can’t use him now.  It’s certainly not for his skills as a pinch-hitter (he’s 2-for-15 this year, and he has a .200 average lifetime as a pinch-hitter).  Unless he gets hot, there’s a good chance he’ll be let go once Brandon Belt is ready to return from a hairline fracture in his wrist.

  1. pilonflats - Jun 17, 2011 at 8:43 PM

    ummmmm – Pat Burrell sitting against a LHP? Oh yeah, thats a shocker. Wow. Can’t believe its not the lead story on the drudgereport or cnn.

    • seeingwhatsticks - Jun 17, 2011 at 8:56 PM

      People still read Drudge?

  2. jrd8523 - Jun 18, 2011 at 4:49 AM

    I don’t agree with the Belt comment. I think its more likely he is going back to AAA, but we’ll see. Took a bunch of injuries in succession and desperation to get him back up, and he wasn’t getting much time at all when he did come back up.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2603)
  2. B. Crawford (2417)
  3. Y. Puig (2347)
  4. G. Springer (2177)
  5. D. Wright (2055)
  1. J. Fernandez (2038)
  2. J. Hamilton (2037)
  3. C. Correa (1986)
  4. H. Ramirez (1971)
  5. D. Span (1941)