Skip to content

Matt Kemp is halfway to the 40-40 club after just 75 games

Jun 22, 2011, 1:48 PM EDT

St Louis Cardinals v Los Angeles Dodgers Getty Images

Matt Kemp stole his 20th base of the season last night, which along with 20 homers puts him halfway to joining the 40-homer, 40-steal club after just 75 games.

Jose Canseco was the first 40-40 player in 1988 and since then Barry Bonds, Alex Rodriguez, and Alfonso Soriano have joined him in the club.

Kemp obviously has a long way to go, as getting another 20 homers and 20 steals in the remaining 87 games would be a major accomplishment for anyone, but he’s off to a historic start.

Eric Stephen of True Blue L.A. did some digging and found that Kemp is just the ninth player to reach 20-20 by the midway point (81st game) of a season. Actually, he’s the eighth player, as Canseco did it twice and Barry Bonds, Bobby Bonds, Alex Rodriguez, Alfonso Soriano, Eric Davis, and Ken Williams each did it once.

And Kemp still has another six games to add to his before-the-midway-point totals.

  1. dodger88 - Jun 22, 2011 at 2:23 PM

    McCourt or no McCourt, the Dodgers had better lock Kemp up in the off season. With the young pitching from Kershaw & Billingsley to De La Rosa and Zach Lee, they will needs a few good bats to be successful in the next few years. Kemp alone can’t do it as is evident this season but they need him to build around.

  2. foreverchipper10 - Jun 22, 2011 at 2:55 PM

    At the 40-40 club ESPN on the screen.

  3. yettyskills - Jun 22, 2011 at 5:22 PM

    Bobby Bonds would have been the first 40-40 player if not for a game being rained out before the 5th inning.

    Eric Davis had a nice run at 40-40 coming up short
    Jose Canseco cheated for his
    So did Bonds
    and A Rod.

    Only Soriano has done it without being an obvious juicer

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2827)
  2. D. Span (2393)
  3. J. Fernandez (2302)
  4. G. Stanton (2300)
  5. F. Rodney (2135)
  1. G. Springer (2090)
  2. M. Teixeira (2008)
  3. Y. Puig (1973)
  4. G. Perkins (1934)
  5. H. Olivera (1829)