Skip to content

Little League coach collapses on field, dies in front of son

Jun 25, 2011, 4:20 PM EDT

Brian Jones

An Illinois-based Little League coach collapsed and died in front of his son and team Wednesday, Chicago’s WBBM-TV reports.

While coaching his Beecher Hot Rods, 43-year-old Brian Jones passed away from cardiovascular disease, The Cook County Medical Examiner’s Office reported.  According to his wife, there was no sign of any problem until he suddenly fell ill and collapsed.

“I asked him what’s going on, and then he said, ‘I’m going to pass out.’ And he fell over on top of me,” Bobbie Jones said.

“He’s a fun-loving guy, and he’s going to be sorely missed by everybody,” she added. “He always tried to do the right thing and have fun and the kids he loved.”

According to his wife, Jones, an organ donor, was able to pass on four of his organs after dying.

  1. deep64blue - Jun 25, 2011 at 4:32 PM

    It’s very, very sad and my heart goes out to the family – kudos for being a donor and for the hope that will give others.

  2. jhorton83 - Jun 26, 2011 at 10:54 AM

    Wow, thanks for the downer story. What a way to ruin a Sunday.

    • jhorton83 - Jun 26, 2011 at 10:57 AM

      I didn’t mean to make light of the story. Just realized that’s how my comment may be interpreted.

  3. ikoiko72 - Jun 26, 2011 at 11:13 AM

    Had to post here. As a heart attack victim and subsequently more problems 5 years later, this is a bittersweet story.

    Maybe one person will ask for a stress test the next time they have a check up. Maybe this guy in the story would have been alive had he been checked out. It often stays hidden until the “event” happens.

    jhorton – yes it is a bad story for the day. Feel sorry for the kid and wife.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3179)
  2. G. Stanton (2606)
  3. M. Teixeira (2492)
  4. H. Olivera (2420)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2407)
  1. J. Fernandez (2404)
  2. K. Medlen (2194)
  3. Y. Puig (2160)
  4. G. Perkins (2098)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2066)