Skip to content

Nationals’ coaching shakeup continues with dismissal of first base coach Dan Radison

Jul 1, 2011, 4:15 PM EDT

dan radison nationals

Jim Riggleman resigned, John McLaren replaced him as interim manager for a weekend, Davey Johnson was hired as the full-time manager, and now the Nationals have fired first base coach Dan Radison.

It certainly makes sense that Johnson would want to put together his own coaching staff and doing so in the middle of a season can be problematic, but then again before taking over as manager Johnson was in the Nationals’ front office anyway.

Presumably he didn’t have a problem with Radison previously. Or perhaps it turns out Radison had a problem working for Johnson or at least not working for Riggleman, and didn’t realize it right away?

Whatever the case, Bill Ladson of reports that Trent Jewitt will replace Radison as first base coach. Radison had held the job since November of 2009 and was a coach on Riggleman’s staffs with the Cubs and Padres as well. Jewitt was previously the Nationals’ Triple-A manager.

Riggleman stepped down with a 38-37 record, after which McLaren went 2-1 and Johnson has gone 0-3.

  1. purdueman - Jul 1, 2011 at 5:38 PM

    When broadcaster Hawk Harrelson heard the news, he quipped: “He Gone!!!”

    • vikesfansteve - Jul 1, 2011 at 6:58 PM

      You say that same lame joke everytime someone gets fired or quits.


      • purdueman - Jul 1, 2011 at 7:17 PM

        Unfortunately that’s what happens everytime Hawk “straps one awn!”… 😉

    • jwbiii - Jul 1, 2011 at 7:09 PM

      Yeah, Time for that one to grab some bench.

      • purdueman - Jul 1, 2011 at 8:28 PM

        My post didn’t require much effort; it was a “can of corn”!!

  2. pherrisphain - Jul 1, 2011 at 6:02 PM

    Stellar job by Johnson.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2606)
  2. C. Correa (2595)
  3. H. Ramirez (2569)
  4. G. Springer (2546)
  5. B. Crawford (2353)
  1. M. Teixeira (2346)
  2. H. Pence (2273)
  3. J. Baez (2259)
  4. J. Hamilton (2209)
  5. Y. Puig (2158)