Skip to content

Ervin Santana no-hits the Indians

Jul 27, 2011, 2:27 PM EDT

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim v Cleveland Indians Getty Images

UPDATE:  He did it!  Ervin Santana throws a no-hitter against the Cleveland Indians!

The one run allowed aside — unearned, of course — Santana was highly effective, striking out ten, flashing some electric stuff.  It was his 11th career start against the Indians — the team against whom he made his debut — and it was his first-ever win against them.  The final out came on a Michael Brantley fly to center.

Santana’s was the first Angels no-hitter since Mark Langston and Mike Witt combined to no-hit Seattle on April 11, 1990. It was the ninth overall in franchise history. Four of them were by Nolan Ryan, natch.

Congratulations Ervin Santana!

UPDATE: Hmm, forgot the no-hitter the Angels lost to the Dodgers back in 2008!  That was a combined job too, with Jered Weaver and Jose Arredondo doing the hard work and getting no support for it.

2:10PM:  Make that a no-no through eight.  Santana is three outs away.

2:00PM: The Indians and the Angels got underway early and are into the top of the eighth inning at this writing.  Through seven, Angels starter Ervin Santana has no-hit the Indians.

It’s not a perfect game. And actually, by virtue of an error, some small ball and a wild pitch, it’s not even a shutout.  But Santana hasn’t allowed a hit yet and the Angels lead 2-1.  We’ll let you know if that changes.

  1. frankvzappa - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:05 PM

    I needed that heads up. I just glanced at the box score and didn’t even notice the no-no since there was a run on the board.

  2. SmackSaw - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:12 PM

    Arrgh! I hate early games!

    • pauleee - Jul 27, 2011 at 5:46 PM

      No kidding! But I’ll still watch the recap. Woot!!

  3. sdelmonte - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:14 PM

    I always hoped Santata would throw a no-hitter. But this will do too.

    If it holds up. I am of course jinxing it. (I usually jinx them by tuning in just in time for the first hit. Did that last night with CC.)

  4. kinggeorge96 - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:28 PM

    And, it’s done!

  5. O.Handwasher - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:35 PM

    Baseball minutiae question: If the Angels don’t score, does Santana get credit for an 8-inning no-no?

    • kopy - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:43 PM

      Your phrasing is a little awkward. He does get credit for a 8 innings of no-hit ball, but he wouldn’t make a list of true “no-hitters” if he only pitches 8 innings I believe.

      • kopy - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:44 PM

        According to MLB rules: An official no-hit game occurs when a pitcher (or pitchers) allows no hits during the entire course of a game, which consists of at least nine innings. In a no-hit game, a batter may reach base via a walk, an error, a hit by pitch, a passed ball or wild pitch on strike three, or catcher’s interference.

      • Steve A - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:47 PM

        Also, I remember hearing that the term “no-no” is for a no hitter with no runs scored. This is just a no hitter.

  6. chrisdtx - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:35 PM

    Didn’t Jered Weaver and Jose Arredondo combine on a no-hitter for the Angels a couple years ago (in a loss)? The Halos are apparently fans of allowing more runs than hits.

    • frankvzappa - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:41 PM

      good call…http://espn.go.com/mlb/recap?gameId=280628119

      • Steve A - Jul 27, 2011 at 2:50 PM

        For the reasons kopy said above, it did not qualify as an official no hitter since it was only 8 innings.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Three legends off to Cooperstown
Top 10 MLB Player Searches