Skip to content

No longer feeling sick, Tim Lincecum set to start tonight

Jul 28, 2011, 1:46 PM EDT

Tim Lincecum

Carlos Beltran‘s debut will be the big story tonight for the Giants, but they’ll also have Tim Lincecum on the mound after the two-time Cy Young winner missed his scheduled Tuesday start with a stomach ailment.

Andrew Baggarly of the San Jose Mercury News reports that Lincecum played catch yesterday and felt strong, which along with the palatable evening temperature in Philadelphia convinced the Giants to let him start.

Lincecum’s modest 8-8 record masks what has been a fantastic season, with a 2.90 ERA and 146/52 K/BB ratio in 136 innings. He’s allowed zero or one run in five of his last six starts and ranks sixth among NL pitchers in ERA, fourth in strikeouts, and third in strikeouts per nine innings.

  1. Chris Fiorentino - Jul 28, 2011 at 1:48 PM

    And he is going against KK. If the Giants don’t win tonight, with everything on their side, then maybe the Phillies are destined to not lose two games in a row for the rest of the season.

    • Utley's Hair - Jul 28, 2011 at 2:14 PM

      Timmy and Beltran against KK…


      • bigdicktater - Jul 28, 2011 at 4:04 PM

        Yeah, you boys are toast. Again.

      • kellyb9 - Jul 28, 2011 at 4:05 PM

        I’m not sure if this was mentioned yet… but what the Phillies could really use tonight is a solid right handed bat.

  2. deathmonkey41 - Jul 28, 2011 at 1:50 PM

    I heard that he is feeling better, but still has the munchies.

    • SmackSaw - Jul 28, 2011 at 2:17 PM

      Yeah, weed is good for nausea.

  3. philly56 - Jul 28, 2011 at 2:22 PM

    If Oswalt comes back early next week then things would look pretty good going into San Francisco, but yeah giants win tonight’s game and the series.

  4. foreverchipper10 - Jul 28, 2011 at 5:18 PM

    Let’s go Big Time Timmy Jim!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. H. Ramirez (2401)
  2. G. Stanton (2359)
  3. G. Springer (2340)
  4. C. Correa (2320)
  5. J. Baez (2303)