Skip to content

Ron Santo’s Wrigley Field statue unveiled

Aug 10, 2011, 9:36 PM EDT

Ron Santo's statue AP

The Cubs on Wednesday unveiled the statue of former third baseman and longtime broadcaster Ron Santo, who passed away last Dec. 3 at age 70.

The statue, which features a blue cap and stirrups, depicts Santo, a nine-time All-Star and four-time Gold Glover with the Cubs, throwing to first after handling a grounder.

Santo played from the Cubs from 1960-74 and was in the team’s radio booth from 1990 until his passing.  He ranks fourth in franchise history with 337 homers.  WAR rates him as the No. 2 Cub all-time behind Cap Anson and ahead of Hall of Famers Ernie Banks, Ryne Sandberg and Billy Williams.

Santo, though, is not yet in the Hall of Fame after being passed over by both the BBWAA and the Veterans Committee.

Santo joins Banks, Williams and Harry Caray in having statues outside Wrigley.  Banks and Williams were among those in attendence for today’s ceremony.

“He was a remarkable person,” Banks said. “Ron Santo did not have an enemy. He loved everybody.”

  1. sknut - Aug 10, 2011 at 11:04 PM

    Thats a sweet looking statue.

  2. hep3 - Aug 11, 2011 at 12:32 AM

    Ron Santo – A great player and an even better man.

  3. Tim's Neighbor - Aug 11, 2011 at 2:11 AM

    So glad that I ran in to Santo last year. The only thing I could say was, ‘Excuse me…sir.’ What I was thinking was, dear God, you’re Ron Santo. He may not have been the best analyst from a baseball

  4. Tim's Neighbor - Aug 11, 2011 at 2:12 AM

    Stance. But I’ll be damned if he wasn’t he bet homer in all of radio.

  5. Detroit Michael - Aug 11, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    Santo has a pretty good chance of being voted into the Hall of Fame this year. Too bad he’s not around to enjoy it.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2675)
  2. C. Correa (2626)
  3. H. Ramirez (2612)
  4. G. Springer (2595)
  5. B. Crawford (2394)
  1. M. Teixeira (2386)
  2. H. Pence (2325)
  3. J. Baez (2305)
  4. J. Hamilton (2236)
  5. Y. Puig (2211)