Skip to content

Indians place Travis Hafner on disabled list with foot injury

Aug 22, 2011, 4:53 PM EDT

Travis Hafner AP

Travis Hafner exited yesterday’s game with a sprained right foot and the Indians have placed the designated hitter on the disabled list.

Hafner also missed time with a foot injury in April and spent a month on the DL with an oblique strain around midseason, but he’s been very productive when healthy enough to be in the lineup, hitting .281 with 11 homers and an .812 OPS in 82 games.

Hafner is out for at least two weeks and his potentially being a question mark for September could increase the Indians’ chances of claiming Jim Thome, who reportedly was placed on waivers today along with an assortment of other veterans.

Thome could step into the DH spot for however long Hafner is out before moving into a pinch-hitter role, and both his remaining salary (about $600,000) and the Twins’ likely asking price (probably a mid-level prospect) are very affordable. It seems like an ideal fit for everyone involved, but that will be a moot point if a team in front of the Indians on the waiver wire pecking order also puts in a claim.

  1. Detroit Michael - Aug 22, 2011 at 5:09 PM

    Hafner has been productive, but he also has been nothing special since his 2004-06 peak. The bar for a DH-only player is set pretty high according to most baseball analysts.

  2. brockw82 - Aug 22, 2011 at 6:02 PM

    Would love to see Thome back in a Tribe uni

    • takemytalentstosoutheuclid - Aug 22, 2011 at 6:17 PM

      Amen to that!

  3. bjones036 - Aug 23, 2011 at 1:29 AM

    Hafner hasn’t done anything forf the tribe since the allstar break… and before that he was on the dl. He needed a break better then benching him at lease they can fill a roster spot

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2958)
  2. D. Span (2496)
  3. G. Stanton (2429)
  4. J. Fernandez (2411)
  5. G. Springer (2374)
  1. Y. Puig (2279)
  2. F. Rodney (2197)
  3. M. Teixeira (2156)
  4. G. Perkins (2058)
  5. H. Olivera (1914)