Skip to content

Quote of the Day: Davey Johnson on Phillies’ fans

Aug 22, 2011, 9:58 AM EDT

Washington Nationals v Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Getty Images

Baiting Philly fans is, like, 40% of my job description, but I could jaw at ’em for a month and not do it quite as elegantly as Davey Johnson did after yesterday’s Nats-Phillies game:

“You gotta sit back down,” chuckling Nats Manager Davey Johnson said of all those invading fans who had to flop back in their seats en masse when Ian Desmond hit the most difficult kind of comeback homer that’s possible in baseball — down to your last strike, nobody on base.

That comes from Tom Boswell’s latest column about the weekend series in Washington in which all of the Phillies fans that come down and fill the park left sad after two of the three games.  Oh, and Johnson added this, which probably makes Boston fans a bit sad too:

“Kind of reminded me a little of ’86 [in the World Series] when the Red Sox were up on the front step [to celebrate] and then they started creeping back.”

Davey Johnson: master troll. As if I didn’t love him already.

  1. timasahh - Aug 22, 2011 at 11:13 PM

    We’ll get our revenge in Octo-…oh wait I forgot we were talking about the Nats.

    Let Johnson have his day. The Nationals took great advantage of poor late game pitching. They need something to cheer about these days anyway, and I can only imagine how frustrating it is to be the away team at your home stadium. Must feel good to silence the haters.

  2. jfuzman - Aug 23, 2011 at 2:43 PM

    (1) Most people in DC are unaware that they have a baseball team
    (2) Those that are aware don’t care
    (3) Nationals management loves it when the Phils are in town because at least then some people come to the Park

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2643)
  2. Y. Puig (2563)
  3. C. Correa (2562)
  4. B. Crawford (2450)
  5. G. Springer (2365)
  1. H. Pence (2330)
  2. H. Ramirez (2242)
  3. M. Teixeira (2227)
  4. J. Hamilton (2209)
  5. J. Baez (2185)