Skip to content

Rangers skipping Matt Harrison’s next scheduled start

Aug 27, 2011, 7:18 PM EDT

harrison ap AP

From Richard Durrett of ESPN Dallas comes word that the Rangers are skipping Matt Harrison‘s scheduled Tuesday start against the Rays in an effort to limit the 25-year-old’s rising innings total. Scott Feldman, a reliever, will take the mound instead.

Harrison threw just 85 2/3 innings last season between the minor and major leagues. This year, he’s already up to 153 total frames.

The young and talented left-hander spoke about the decision with reporters on Saturday afternoon:

“You’re not happy with having to skip a start, especially near the end of the season. But they think that’s what is best for me. I’ll stay active in the bullpen. I understand it. They were honest with me, so I can’t complain.”

Harrison has an impressive 3.59 ERA, 1.31 WHIP and 103/49 K/BB ratio through 25 starts this year.

  1. hdanger10 - Aug 27, 2011 at 8:05 PM

    Based on that picture, he is clearly a lefty.

    • Drew Silva - Aug 27, 2011 at 8:11 PM

      Duh, thanks.

    • Mike Luna - Aug 27, 2011 at 8:11 PM

      He is decidedly left-handed. Feldman is right-handed. Jim Abbott is one-handed.

      • Drew Silva - Aug 27, 2011 at 8:13 PM

        There’s a bar in Anchorage, Alaska called the ‘3 Handed Man.’

      • proudlycanadian - Aug 27, 2011 at 8:24 PM

        Economists are two handed. “On the one hand….On the other hand…”.

      • Drew Silva - Aug 27, 2011 at 8:28 PM

        Joseph Stalin was heavy-handed.

  2. kiwicricket - Aug 28, 2011 at 1:11 AM

    Drew –
    Any chance of doing a break-down of the Rookie pitchers this season? There must be half a dozen guys who must have innings limit complications. Implications for the play-offs?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2804)
  2. C. Correa (2567)
  3. Y. Puig (2510)
  4. G. Stanton (2465)
  5. G. Springer (2393)
  1. H. Pence (2313)
  2. J. Hamilton (2183)
  3. M. Teixeira (1978)
  4. H. Ramirez (1954)
  5. J. Fernandez (1923)