Skip to content

Lance Berkman says the Cardinals are keeping him

Aug 30, 2011, 7:05 PM EDT

Lance Berkman AP

Matthew Leach of has the quotes:

“I’m not going to get moved,” Berkman said. ” I think the ship has sailed. I really do.

“I don’t want to be moved. I don’t think they want to move me. Obviously Mo has an obligation as the general manager to listen to any… But certainly I think both sides, myself and the Cardinals, we’re on the same page with this.”

Berkman is a free agent at season’s end and the Cards no longer have legitimate postseason aspirations, but St. Louis could make a strong bid to re-sign him for 2012 and he’ll almost certainly bring multiple draft picks if he leaves, there isn’t any momentum towards a deal.

The Rangers were believed to be the top and maybe the only suitor for Berkman.

  1. humanexcrement - Aug 31, 2011 at 8:56 AM

    If history has proven anything, it’s that comeback seasons are followed by “return to reality” seasons. Fat Elvis is not going to have a career resurgence, he’s going to go back to decline, and if the Cards want to keep Pujols, they’re going to have to cut elsewhere. I’m guessing the veteran outfielder at the end of his career would be a prime candidate. then again, I wondered why they signed him to play right field in the first place.

    • paperlions - Aug 31, 2011 at 11:13 AM

      I guess you don’t realize that this season was a return to reality from a lost season during which Berkman had kneed problems all year long.

    • okwhitefalcon - Aug 31, 2011 at 12:27 PM

      They signed him to play right field because he was healthy, and when healthy – Puma hits.

  2. burnsy - Aug 31, 2011 at 9:48 AM

    The Cardinals signed him because Albert Pujols told them to sign him. They’ve been good friends for years.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3053)
  2. J. Fernandez (2507)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2417)
  4. G. Stanton (2392)
  5. D. Span (2312)
  1. F. Rodney (2116)
  2. Y. Puig (2103)
  3. M. Teixeira (2007)
  4. G. Springer (1973)
  5. H. Olivera (1940)