Skip to content

Stephen Strasburg’s next start is Sunday versus the Astros

Sep 8, 2011, 12:48 PM EDT

strasburg ap wide AP

Stephen Strasburg looked fantastic in his first start back from Tommy John elbow surgery, averaging 96 miles per hour with his fastball while throwing five shutout innings Tuesday night, so the Nationals will keep him on a normal rest schedule for his next turn in the rotation.

Strasburg is slated to make his second start Sunday versus the Astros, which means a second straight matchup against one of the NL’s worst lineups. He held the punchless Dodgers to just two hits while working on 12 months and three days of rest Tuesday.

Assuming the Nationals continue to start Strasburg every fifth game for the remainder of the season he’d wind up making a total of five starts against the Dodgers, Astros, Marlins, Phillies, and Marlins again. As a rookie last season he made 12 starts before being shut down.

  1. Mr. Jason "El Bravo" Heyward - Sep 8, 2011 at 12:54 PM

    I hope this schedule stays this way and he strikes out Ryan Howard 5 times. Which will be tough since he likely won’t see him five times.

  2. dodger88 - Sep 8, 2011 at 1:08 PM

    With the Astros line-up the only thing that might keep Strasburg from a no-hitter is the limit on pitches he’ll be allowed to throw.

  3. natstowngreg - Sep 8, 2011 at 1:14 PM

    If he pitches as efficiently as he did Tuesday, Davey might let him go 6 innings. If not, 5 innings.

  4. dagnats - Sep 8, 2011 at 1:39 PM

    hopefully our middle relievers wont screw it up again…

  5. Chipmaker - Sep 8, 2011 at 3:49 PM

    Ooh! Anyone know of a sports book where I can bet on a perfect game?

  6. paul621 - Sep 8, 2011 at 4:01 PM

    I thought he was done his minor league stint? *rimshot*

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2546)
  2. G. Stanton (2493)
  3. G. Springer (2475)
  4. H. Ramirez (2474)
  5. B. Crawford (2283)
  1. M. Teixeira (2275)
  2. H. Pence (2197)
  3. J. Baez (2196)
  4. J. Hamilton (2153)
  5. Y. Puig (2101)