Skip to content

The Cardinals give Chris Carpenter a two-year extension

Sep 12, 2011, 9:15 AM EDT


The St. Louis Post-Dispatch is reporting that the Cardinals have agreed to a two-year contract extension with starter Chris Carpenter.  The amount: $21 million.  There are still some details to be worked out, but the money and other important parts of the deal are in place.  It should be formally announced later this week.

This is good for the Cardinals for two reason: (1) it locks up the leader of their rotation for two years; and (2) assuming it’s a straight $10.5 million a year, it frees up roughly $4.5 million inasmuch as the Cards had a $15 million option on Carpenter for 2012. I mean, I guess it frees it up. They could have always not exercised the option and saved even more, but someone has to pitch for these guys.

Either way, it certainly disposes of an important piece of business prior to an offseason when all of their energies — and dollars — are going to be needed to either sign Albert Pujols or scramble to fill the void his departure would create.

Nyjer Morgan could not be reached for comment.

  1. meyerwolf - Sep 12, 2011 at 9:21 AM

    Only because you didn’t try hard enough.

  2. Kevin S. - Sep 12, 2011 at 9:50 AM

    Welp, there goes my long-shot hope at a decent FA starter. Montero needs to rake enough to convince the Dodgers he’s a suitable haul for the soon-to-be unaffordable Kershaw.

  3. trevorb06 - Sep 12, 2011 at 10:37 AM

    Hey Chris, the 90’s called… they want their soul patch back.

    • trevorb06 - Sep 12, 2011 at 10:38 AM

      SmashMouth needs to borrow it…

  4. hansob - Sep 12, 2011 at 10:53 AM

    $21M for 2 years? Geez. Is that all he thinks he’s worth? I was thinking $30M over 2 years. I thought that $15M option ($14M if you factor in the buyout) was looking reasonable.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2976)
  2. J. Fernandez (2393)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2339)
  4. G. Stanton (2220)
  5. D. Span (2030)
  1. Y. Puig (1964)
  2. M. Teixeira (1930)
  3. F. Rodney (1900)
  4. G. Springer (1892)
  5. H. Olivera (1874)