Skip to content

Ozzie Guillen’s new contract with Marlins worth $10 million

Sep 28, 2011, 1:20 PM EDT

Ken Williams Ozzie Guillen

Ozzie Guillen will introduced as the Marlins’ new manager this afternoon and Joe Frisaro of reports that his new contract will be a four-year, $10 million deal.

Guillen had just one season and $2 million remaining on his contract with the White Sox, so he gets a 25 percent raise and three additional years.

Frisaro writes that in addition to Joey Cora joining the Marlins as Guillen’s bench coach current Florida pitching coach Randy St. Claire and hitting coach Eduardo Perez will likely stick around, ruling out a Guillen-Greg Walker reunion.

  1. sosascork - Sep 28, 2011 at 1:35 PM

    Meanwhile, @LoMoMarlins is tweeting that tonight is his last game with the team…!/LoMoMarlins

    • micquarters - Sep 28, 2011 at 1:43 PM

      he said its his last as a florida marlin. because next year, they are the “miami marlins”. check the hashtag

    • scatterbrian - Sep 28, 2011 at 1:45 PM

      that seems controversial until you see #2012MiamiMarlins

    • Francisco (FC) - Sep 28, 2011 at 2:09 PM

      Actually they are already tweeting each other about hit & run and so forth. Heck this could become a new duo. LoMo can title it:

      !@#$% my Manager says.

  2. aceshigh11 - Sep 28, 2011 at 1:39 PM

    I guess Guillen got his “bleepin’ money” as he so eloquently put it.

    Good for him, I guess.

  3. Jonny 5 - Sep 28, 2011 at 2:32 PM

  4. lanflfan - Sep 28, 2011 at 3:53 PM

    Wow, sounds like a disaster waiting to happen. I give it two years, at most, before Guillen is shown the door. It will be entertaining though, I can’t wait for the endless Ozzie quotes.

    • Old Gator - Sep 28, 2011 at 5:59 PM

      I can. Indefinitely.

      Biggest waste of money since the stadium itself.

  5. hdc773 - Sep 29, 2011 at 1:19 AM


Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2641)
  2. C. Correa (2610)
  3. H. Ramirez (2595)
  4. G. Springer (2566)
  5. B. Crawford (2370)
  1. M. Teixeira (2363)
  2. H. Pence (2295)
  3. J. Baez (2275)
  4. J. Hamilton (2222)
  5. Y. Puig (2183)