Skip to content

Jose Valverde wins the Delivery Man of the Year award. Um, OK.

Oct 5, 2011, 5:30 PM EDT

Jose Valverde AP

Jose Valverde was named Major League Baseball’s Delivery Man of the Year today.  It’s a fan vote, so take it for what it’s worth.  And from where I’m sitting, it’s not worth a heck of a lot.  Here’s part of that:

Other relievers receiving votes from the MLB panel this year included John Axford of the Milwaukee Brewers (2-2, 1.95 ERA, 46 SV), rookie Craig Kimbrel of the Atlanta Braves (4-3, 2.10 ERA, 46 SV) and Joel Hanrahan of the Pittsburgh Pirates (1-4, 1.83 ERA, 40 SV).

Note anyone missing there?  Anyone who, you know, saved 44 games with a 1.91 ERA and a WHIP of 0.897 and was better than Valverde in just about every category apart from saves? Really, unless Mariano Rivera pulled a John Laraquette and removed himself from consideration due to the unfairness of the competition — or unless dancing around like a loon after a save became a critical component to the award — I’m gonna have a hard time taking this award all that seriously.

  1. easports82 - Oct 5, 2011 at 5:33 PM

    He’s an awful delivery man! I ordered a pizza and he ate the damn thing on the way over!

  2. sixsixny - Oct 5, 2011 at 5:44 PM

    When Jose and those 3 other “vote getters” get another 183 saves combined, they’ll be relevant!

  3. itsmekirill - Oct 5, 2011 at 5:55 PM

    Most outstanding relief pitcher? How about David Robertson?

    • The Common Man - Oct 5, 2011 at 6:08 PM

      But…but…but…he barely had ANY saves!

  4. pisano - Oct 5, 2011 at 6:13 PM

    This pot bellied swayback couldn’t hold David Robertson’s jock, let alone the great Mariano Rivera’s. What this guy should do is go on a conditioning program, or contact Jenny Craig.

  5. protectthishouse54 - Oct 5, 2011 at 6:17 PM

    Hopefully this made him feel better during the plane ride to NY. You know, the one they weren’t going to be making.

    • pisano - Oct 5, 2011 at 7:22 PM

      Isn’t it funny when big mouths like Valverde put their foot in their mouths? It would be even better if the Yankees kick their asses tomorrow night.

  6. macjacmccoy - Oct 5, 2011 at 7:04 PM

    Adams and Bastardo need to be in the conversation. Saves dont mean anything more then their manger decided to use them in the 9th inning.

  7. ditto65 - Oct 5, 2011 at 8:28 PM

    I can’t believe that Brian Wilson didn’t win.

  8. natsattack - Oct 5, 2011 at 8:34 PM

    Tyler Clippard had a much better ERA, but since he plays for the Nats, no one votes for him. Nationals fans went extinct with the dinosaurs 45 million years ago.

    • natstowngreg - Oct 5, 2011 at 9:06 PM

      Clippard’s reward was getting into the All-Star Game.

      A few of us did survive. As the Nats win more often, many front-runners will emerge from their caves, proclaiming themselves survivors.

  9. ditto65 - Oct 5, 2011 at 8:51 PM

    Where are the comments?

  10. atworkident - Oct 6, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    How many blown saves did Riveria?

    How many does Valverde have?

    • sabathiawouldbegoodattheeighthtoo - Oct 6, 2011 at 10:12 AM

      How many losses did Valverde?

      How many does Rivera have?

      Saves are as much about the situation before the reliever enters the game as they are about what the reliever does once he get there. The fact that Valverde gave up his runs when the team was up by 2 or 3, or when they were tied, does not change the fact that he gave up more baserunners, more runs, more HR and allowed them at a higher rate than Mo.

  11. pisano - Oct 6, 2011 at 1:00 PM

    Putting this guy’s name in the same sentence with Rivera is an insult to Mo. He has about as much class and mentality a three minute egg.

  12. lembeck4 - Oct 6, 2011 at 3:55 PM

    Congratulations Papa, well deserved.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2307)
  2. B. Crawford (2288)
  3. Y. Puig (2264)
  4. G. Springer (2026)
  5. D. Wright (1995)
  1. J. Hamilton (1966)
  2. J. Fernandez (1958)
  3. D. Span (1907)
  4. H. Ramirez (1859)
  5. C. Correa (1818)