Skip to content

It’s official: Theo Epstein resigns from Red Sox to join Cubs’ front office

Oct 21, 2011, 10:03 PM EDT

Theo Epstein

It’s finally done.

Peter Abraham of the Boston Globe reports that the Red Sox and Cubs have agreed to the framework of a deal that will allow Theo Epstein to become the Cubs’ president of baseball operations. Epstein has resigned from his post as Red Sox general manager and will join the Cubs’ front office, effective immediately.

The Cubs will hold a press conference on Tuesday, the next off-day of the World Series, to introduce Epstein while Ben Cherington is expected to be announced as his replacement on the same day in Boston.

Compensation hasn’t been settled yet, but a joint statement from the clubs specifies they have “reached an agreement regarding a process by which appropriate compensation will be determined.” With Epstein now a member of the Cubs’ front office, he will presumably be involved in the negotiations. That’s not awkward at all. According to Sean McAdam of, if the two sides are unable to reach a satisfactory agreement in the next few days, commissioner Bud Selig could step in as an arbitrator.

  1. ralbarra - Oct 21, 2011 at 10:31 PM

    Bout time!

    • pancakeeater - Oct 22, 2011 at 12:31 AM

      • Tribe&Browns&Cavs - Oct 22, 2011 at 9:12 AM

        I can’t speak for anyone else, but there’s no way I’m clicking on a link for a website called vagex.

  2. sknut - Oct 21, 2011 at 10:37 PM

    Finally! Let’s all have a beer and chicken now that our national drama is done.

    In all seriousness I am happy for Cubs fans they deserve a winner and I think Theo will do a good job there.

  3. crookedstick - Oct 21, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    Our long national nightmare is over.

  4. btwicey - Oct 21, 2011 at 11:10 PM

    Great sign!! Finger lickin good!

  5. diehardcubbiefan4life - Oct 21, 2011 at 11:18 PM

    ….and finally the giant will awaken from its 103 year long slumber. (hopefully)

    • Old Gator - Oct 22, 2011 at 8:58 AM

      The giant’s not sleeping. It’s dead. Now we find out if Theo is adept at reanimation.

  6. captamerica17 - Oct 21, 2011 at 11:31 PM

    Finally some hope on the North Side

  7. Jack Marshall - Oct 21, 2011 at 11:33 PM

    Run away, Theo, run away!

  8. aceshigh11 - Oct 22, 2011 at 12:19 AM

    Best of luck to him, and thanks for all the good work he did with the Red Sox.

    Even though the reality how much credit he personally deserves is rather complex, and even though he wasn’t always successful in his endeavors, ’04 and ’07 speak for themselves,

  9. aaronzona2011 - Oct 22, 2011 at 12:58 AM

    sad to see theo go because he won’t be robbing the padres blind for us anymore 😦

  10. 1historian - Oct 22, 2011 at 9:35 AM

    Good luck in your new gig, Theo.

  11. roverboy1949 - Oct 22, 2011 at 10:27 AM

    Thanks for all the hard work and the 2 World Series Trophies. Now, sorry you couldn’t handle the pressure in Beantown. No one ever said it was easy in the Big city. You can’t blame Tito for all the problems with the team. Everyone was involved. Tito didn’t have any choice but to leave. You did. Bye-Bye, So Long, Farewell. Good luck with The Cubs.

    • illegalblues - Oct 22, 2011 at 6:17 PM

      hilarious that sox fans now sound like early 2000’s yankees’ fans. is david ortiz a tru red sox? is jon lester a relative red sox brand?

  12. premiumpit - Oct 22, 2011 at 1:40 PM

    When did boston become a big city…Been there twice and its def not a big city…More like a racist TOWN…New York…now thats a big city….

  13. undeadjesus - Oct 22, 2011 at 7:30 PM

    why is there a photo of a young Ernest Borgnine?

    • Old Gator - Oct 23, 2011 at 2:19 AM

      Because the old one was so badly disfigured filming The Wild Bunch.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2660)
  2. B. Crawford (2466)
  3. Y. Puig (2371)
  4. G. Springer (2229)
  5. J. Fernandez (2067)
  1. D. Wright (2067)
  2. J. Hamilton (2055)
  3. C. Correa (2048)
  4. H. Ramirez (2025)
  5. H. Pence (1959)