Skip to content

Mariners keep manager Eric Wedge and entire coaching staff

Oct 27, 2011, 10:47 AM EDT

Eric Wedge, Paul Emmel AP

Eric Wedge went 67-95 in his first season as Seattle’s manager, but the Mariners announced last night that he’ll be back in 2012 along with his entire coaching staff.

In a statement released to the media general manager Jack Zduriencik called them “a group of hard-working professionals.”

Greg Johns of notes that this is the first offseason since 2001/2002 that the Mariners haven’t made at least one change on the coaching staff. That was Lou Piniella’s final season as manager and since then they’ve gone through eight different skippers.

Constant turnover hasn’t done the Mariners much good, but another 90-loss season next year would put Wedge and Zduriencik on the hot seat together.

  1. Kyle - Oct 27, 2011 at 12:22 PM

    Aside from a tendency to over emphasize “aggressiveness” at the plate, I’m a fan of Wedge and am cool with this move. Here’s hoping neither him nor Z are on any kind of hot seat this time next season.

  2. hoopmatch - Oct 27, 2011 at 12:46 PM

    Hey Aaron: What’s the difference between eight skippers and “eight different skippers”

    • garnermusic - Oct 27, 2011 at 12:49 PM

      ex: Billy Martin 1,2 3, and 4.

  3. emeraldcityfan - Oct 27, 2011 at 1:07 PM

    Instead of replacing the manager and GM every year, the blame should lie with Howard Lincoln and Chuck Armstrong. They are the only constants in this yearly debacle. But hey at least we don’t have Milton Bradley on the team this year so that’s always a positive.

  4. foreverchipper10 - Oct 27, 2011 at 3:19 PM

    At least he will get a full season from Ackley. Kid is gonna be a stud.

    • Kyle - Oct 27, 2011 at 4:15 PM

      From your mouth to God’s ears, sir.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2834)
  2. D. Span (2405)
  3. J. Fernandez (2310)
  4. G. Stanton (2307)
  5. F. Rodney (2139)
  1. G. Springer (2129)
  2. M. Teixeira (2027)
  3. Y. Puig (2017)
  4. G. Perkins (1950)
  5. H. Olivera (1837)