Skip to content

David Freese takes over as all-time single-postseason RBI leader

Oct 28, 2011, 11:34 PM EDT

David Freese Getty Images

David Freese didn’t stop with a huge Game 6. His two-run double in the Friday’s Game 7 victory gave him the all-time record for RBI in a single postseason:

1. David Freese (StL): 21 (2011)
2. Sandy Alomar Jr. (Cle): 19 (1997)
2. Scott Spiezio (Ana): 19 (2002)
2. David Ortiz (Bos): 19 (2004)
5. Alex Rodriguez (NYY): 18 (2009)
6. John Valentin (Bos): 17 (1999)
6. Rich Aurilia (SFG): 17 (2002)
6. Ivan Rodriguez (Fla): 17 (2003)
6. Ryan Howard (Phi): 17 (2009)

Freese, who had 55 RBI in 97 regular-season games, hit .397 with five homers in his first career postseason. The 21 RBI came in 18 games.

If he hadn’t already done so, Freese definitely made a name for himself with his game-tying double in the ninth and game-winning homer in the 11th in Thursday’s Game 6. His hit tonight was also big, as it swung the momentum back the Cardinals’ way after Chris Carpenter gave up two runs in the first.

  1. paul621 - Oct 28, 2011 at 11:48 PM

    Not exactly elite company there, but I guess the longer postseason rules out some of the older greats.

    • natstowngreg - Oct 29, 2011 at 7:54 PM

      A list with Scott Spiezio and not Lou Gehrig? Yes, not much use. Should be correctly titled, “top 9 in the last 15 years.”

  2. Reflex - Oct 29, 2011 at 6:00 PM

    Wait, what? I thought Ryan Howard led all RBI lists? Isn’t that in the rules somewhere? I’ve been assured that his RBI dominance means he’s an elite 1B, was I lied to?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Red Sox shopping Lester and Lackey
Top 10 MLB Player Searches