Skip to content

After being freed from Egyptian prison, Ilan Grapel told Mets won World Series

Oct 29, 2011, 4:45 PM EDT

Israel Egypt

Did you know that the Mets won the World Series? For a little while, that’s what 27-year-old Ilan Grapel thought.

Grapel, a law student from Queens, New York, was freed Thursday after spending five months in an Egyptian prison. He was accused of spying for Israel in June after attending a demonstration in Cairo during the country’s uprising. The United States helped broker a deal this week to set him free as part of a prisoner swap.

According to the New York Post, Grapel was celebrating his release from isolation with a press conference in Tel Aviv when Rep. Gary Ackerman from New York let everyone in on the joke.

“There’s so many people to thank,” he said, “and after being cut off for the past five months …”

Ackerman quickly interjected, “We told him the Mets won the World Series.”

You know, because the poor guy didn’t suffer enough.

  1. halladaysbiceps - Oct 29, 2011 at 4:59 PM

    I know this guy is innocent of the charges. Call it a gut feeling. Why?

    Anyone dumb enough to think that the Mutts could win a World Series this year is not capable of spying for any country.

    • Clinton Manitoba - Oct 29, 2011 at 5:07 PM

      We were all dumb enough to think the Phillies pitching could not be beaten…

  2. DonRSD - Oct 29, 2011 at 5:18 PM

    LET’S GO METS!!!

  3. Marty - Oct 29, 2011 at 5:39 PM

    Better if it were the Egyptians who told him the Mets won it this week to juice his spirits. That would have been a clever form of torture.

  4. sdelmonte - Oct 29, 2011 at 7:17 PM

    Not cool, Gary. (And boy, he looks OLD.)

    • WhenMattStairsIsKing - Oct 31, 2011 at 11:47 AM

      You would too if you were a prisoner like that.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2574)
  2. C. Correa (2534)
  3. Y. Puig (2531)
  4. B. Crawford (2424)
  5. H. Pence (2300)
  1. G. Springer (2255)
  2. H. Ramirez (2198)
  3. M. Teixeira (2184)
  4. J. Hamilton (2156)
  5. J. Baez (2127)