Skip to content

Trio of Red Sox win American League Gold Gloves

Nov 2, 2011, 12:40 AM EDT

Jacoby Ellsbury

Rawlings unveiled the 2011 Gold Glove award winners this evening, but things didn’t go exactly as planned. The new award show was going to be televised on ESPN2 at 10 p.m. ET, but it was pushed back for about 45 minutes due to a high-scoring college football game between Northern Illinois University and Toledo. Once the show finally got underway, the full list of award winners leaked via the Associated Press and I’m going to assume whoever was watching probably turned the channel to a Seinfeld re-run or something. Nice try, Rawlings. Better luck next year?

Anyway, we’ll start with the American League winners and do a separate post for the National League. Keep in mind that we have one winner for each outfield position for the very first time:

C – Matt Wieters, Orioles (first Gold Glove)
1B – Adrian Gonzalez, Red Sox (third Gold Glove)
2B – Dustin Pedroia, Red Sox (second Gold Glove)
SS – Erick Aybar, Angels (first Gold Glove)
3B – Adrian Beltre, Rangers (third Gold Glove)
LF – Alex Gordon, Royals (first Gold Glove)
CF – Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox (first Gold Glove)
RF – Nick Markakis, Orioles (first Gold Glove)
P – Mark Buehrle, White Sox (third Gold Glove)

Ellsbury, Pedroia and Gonzalez give the Red Sox three winners in the same season for the first time since Dwight Evans, Fred Lynn and Rick Burleson won at their respective positions back in 1979.

I refuse to get worked up over the voting, because really, it’s pointless, but Alex Gordon topping Brett Gardner in left field is probably the biggest surprise of the bunch. Gordon led American League outfielders with 20 assists in 2011, his first season as a full-time outfielder, but Gardner is about as good as you can get in left field and would make a great center fielder if Curtis Granderson wasn’t around. Here’s your biggest head scratcher of the evening.

I would have preferred J.J. Hardy over Erick Aybar at shortstop, but it’s nice to see his teammate Matt Wieters get recognized for his excellent contributions behind the plate. The 25-year-old threw out 37 percent of baserunners this season, topped only by Miguel Montero among qualified MLB catchers. While it hasn’t happened as quickly as some expected, Wieters is well on his way to emerging as one of the better all-around players in the American League.

* The original post gave the impression that MLB unveils the Gold Glove award winners. For accuracy’s sake, I wanted to make it clear that this is Rawlings’ show. 

  1. baseballisboring - Nov 2, 2011 at 1:27 AM

    Meh. I’m a Sox fan and I don’t even care. I’ll read the Fielding Bible.

  2. ksbuff - Nov 2, 2011 at 2:00 AM

    I’m not sure Gordon over Gardner is that surprising. I may be a bit biased but if you look at their stats they split most of the metrics. Gordon leads most traditional stats (innings, PO, A, fielding %), while Gardner leads most of the advanced stats except for R/G. I think it’s a toss-up. As such, why not reward the guy that was far-and-away the most important defensive player on his team?

    • JBerardi - Nov 2, 2011 at 7:56 AM

      How is a left fielder ever the most important defensive player on any team?

      • ksbuff - Nov 2, 2011 at 11:07 AM

        Sorry, that’s admittedly an overstatement. The point I was trying to makes that opponents consistently altered their running strategies all year to account for the Royals OF arms. Shouldn’t that be a hallmark of a GG? Don’t believe me, ask the managers that voted for the guy.

  3. rexryanisablowhard - Nov 2, 2011 at 2:00 AM

    Except for Beltre, no playoffs for the rest

  4. qcubed3 - Nov 2, 2011 at 2:09 AM

    Derek Jeter won again?!

    Oh, sorry, old habits die hard . . .

  5. bigharold - Nov 2, 2011 at 2:15 AM

    I guess that thread on the Boston Globe about the GG being a joke is going to have to get yanked.

    • paperlions - Nov 2, 2011 at 8:05 AM

      Why? Aybar winning is a joke there are a lot of good defensive SS in the AL (Ramirez, Hardy, Escobar, Peralta, Ryan, Andrus)….Aybar just isn’t one of them.

      Gardner not winning is a joke. Gordon’s assists are impressive, but those extra 13 outs don’t trump Gardners far superior range…..but…whatever.

      • marinersnate - Nov 2, 2011 at 6:35 PM

        After last year, listening to Yankees fan’s complain this year- Priceless.

    • bozosforall - Nov 2, 2011 at 12:58 PM

      Those hypocrites will probably come up with some sort of spin that the gullible Boston faithful will swallow like a two-dollar hooker swallows.

  6. rexryanisablowhard - Nov 2, 2011 at 5:55 AM

    That was a helluva World Series, with the Sawx downing the Phils in 7, one for the ages!

  7. JBerardi - Nov 2, 2011 at 7:57 AM

    Three Red Sox win, and one of them even deserves it? Not too bad!

  8. bmoreballers - Nov 2, 2011 at 10:35 AM

    About time markakis gets one. He should have 3 by now

  9. lembeck4 - Nov 2, 2011 at 11:12 AM

    Was hoping to see Austin Jackson win, oh well, he got the fielding bible award at least. Not so sure about Aybar….seems like a reach to me.

  10. PanchoHerreraFanClub - Nov 2, 2011 at 11:40 AM

    None of the Red Sox were mentioned as fried chicken eaters in the clubhouse. Moral: You don’t win gold gloves with greasy fingers.

  11. psousa1 - Nov 2, 2011 at 2:02 PM

    Somewhere Theo Epstein is demanding a recount in CF. Remember his zone rating showed that Ellsbury was a below average CF so they had to get Mike Cameron which cost a year off of Ellsbury’s career (he got run over by Adrian Beltre – a guy who wasn’t worth re-signing because he didn’t walk enough).

    Good luck Cubbies – you are going to be paying guys tens of millions of dollars for players who walk a lot! Don’t drive in the runner from third because they are too busy working the pitch count but they walk a lot!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3060)
  2. M. Teixeira (2457)
  3. G. Stanton (2430)
  4. H. Olivera (2376)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2346)
  1. J. Fernandez (2253)
  2. K. Medlen (2153)
  3. G. Perkins (2061)
  4. J. Eickhoff (2048)
  5. Y. Puig (2046)