Skip to content

M’s prospect Nick Franklin goes 4-for-5 in Rising Stars Game

Nov 6, 2011, 9:37 AM EDT


Mariners shortstop prospect Nick Franklin stole the show in Saturday night’s Arizona Fall League Rising Stars Game, finishing 4-for-5 with a home run, two doubles and four RBI as the West beat the East 11-2.

The switch-hitting Franklin, considered a Top 50 prospect by most ranking services, also scored three runs. He homered in the first inning off the No. 1 overall pick from June’s first-year player draft, Gerrit Cole, then added doubles in the second and third. Franklin also singled in the fifth.

Cole, a hard-throwing righty now in the Pirates’ system, didn’t make it out of the first inning. He displayed elite velocity, hitting 99 mph at one point, but was charged with five runs on four hits and also walked a batter.

Nationals outfield prospect Bryce Harper went 0-for-2, Royals outfield prospect Wil Myers was 3-for-5 and Cubs infield prospect Junior Lake was 1-for-3 with two strikeouts. For more, check

  1. born466 - Nov 6, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    yankees should go after mark beurle, he’s a lefty , i think he is a more solid pitcher than cj wilson, and roy oswalt.

    • Lukehart80 - Nov 6, 2011 at 10:54 AM

      Why is this comment in this thread???

      • Drew Silva - Nov 6, 2011 at 11:11 AM

        It’s a big world, man. Sometimes people just get lost.

  2. marinersnate - Nov 6, 2011 at 12:09 PM

    Franklin split time this last year between A+ and AA. He is probably at the very least a full year from the M’s. The key for him (as it was for Ackley) is can he stick at middle infield. His bat won’t play nearly as big if he ends up having to move to a corner.

  3. shawnuel - Nov 6, 2011 at 5:37 PM

    Go Frankie! I’d imagine Hultzen did OK as well, huh?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2770)
  2. Y. Puig (2442)
  3. C. Correa (2431)
  4. G. Stanton (2384)
  5. G. Springer (2294)
  1. H. Pence (2218)
  2. J. Hamilton (2110)
  3. M. Teixeira (1902)
  4. H. Ramirez (1898)
  5. J. Fernandez (1869)