Skip to content

Pirates “optimistic” about Andrew McCutchen extension

Dec 18, 2011, 3:05 PM EST

Andrew McCutchen AP

Pirates GM Neal Huntington told fans at Saturday’s PirateFest that he is “optimistic” about signing Andrew McCutchen to a long-term extension before the 25-year-old center fielder reaches free agency.

This according to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

McCutchen isn’t eligible for salary arbitration until after the 2012 season and won’t hit free agency until the winter of 2015, so the Bucs aren’t in a great hurry quite yet. But they’ll do their best, once the time comes, to ensure that the face of their franchise is not exposed to the open market. Here’s Huntington:

“When you enter a negotiation, you’re at X, the player’s at Z and you work awfully hard to try to find Y. There has to be a compromise, there has to be a shared risk on both sides.”

McCutchen batted .259/.364/.456 with 23 home runs, 89 RBI and 23 stolen bases in 678 plate appearances this past year for the 72-90 Pirates. Through three major league seasons, he owns an .822 career OPS.

  1. evanwins - Dec 18, 2011 at 3:38 PM

    WOW! You mean that they think that sometime in the next 4 years they’ll be able to work out a deal with McCutchen.

    I am going to be on the edge of my seat for the next 3 years and 9 months awaiting the news

    • sfs1 - Dec 18, 2011 at 6:35 PM

      I think you’re missing the point that the Pirates are hoping to buy out his arb years and a year or two beyond that.

  2. bsputnik - Dec 19, 2011 at 6:14 AM

    There is no way he is going to sign past 2015. He will be traded after 2014 for draft picks and/or prospects. This team will be awful until they are sold. After 20 years, there is not an ounce of optimism left in me.

    • nategearhart - Dec 19, 2011 at 11:25 AM

      But on the other hand…Evan Longoria, Troy Tulowitzki, Albert Pujols…….

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. Z. Greinke (2601)
  2. A. Wainwright (2575)
  3. D. Viciedo (2534)
  4. M. Upton (2345)
  5. A. Gordon (2309)