Skip to content

Mets sign catcher Rob Johnson to minor-league contract

Dec 22, 2011, 12:50 PM EDT


Some people might say this is a slow news day, but I beg to differ because the Mets have signed catcher Rob Johnson to a minor-league contract.

Johnson figures to compete with Mike Nickeas for the job backing up starter Josh Thole.

Johnson spent the first seven years of his pro career with the Mariners before joining the Padres this past season, hitting .190 with three homers and a .544 OPS in 67 games. And as ugly as those numbers look they’re basically equal to Johnson’s career marks, which include a .197 average and .573 OPS.

Of course, Nickeas has very little major-league experience and hasn’t even hit much in the minors, so Johnson seemingly has a legitimate chance to win the backup gig in camp.

  1. ricofoy - Dec 22, 2011 at 12:58 PM

    Johnson flat out can’t hit. I’m surprised the Mariners let him go. He was a perfect fit in their lineup.

  2. trevorb06 - Dec 22, 2011 at 1:05 PM

    I didn’t realize the Mets were this serious.

  3. plmathfoto - Dec 22, 2011 at 1:35 PM

    Methinks they did this so they can show Nickeas that his bat belongs in the bigs, here you go Mike, Johnson has played all these games in the majors, and you’re at least as good a hitter as him…and he’s a catcher too!

  4. sknut - Dec 22, 2011 at 2:22 PM

    Still better than Drew Butera.

    • trevorb06 - Dec 22, 2011 at 2:29 PM

      Never have I read a truer comment.

    • gammagammahey - Dec 22, 2011 at 2:55 PM

      If only the Mets had never traded Drew Butera for Luis Castillo, this could have been a wonderfully inept battle for the backup catcher job in Spring Training.

    • melsh13 - Dec 22, 2011 at 11:42 PM

      I just wonder how badly the guy who backed up Drew Butera sucked …

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2903)
  2. C. Correa (2675)
  3. G. Stanton (2614)
  4. Y. Puig (2602)
  5. G. Springer (2553)
  1. H. Pence (2422)
  2. H. Ramirez (2289)
  3. J. Hamilton (2256)
  4. M. Teixeira (2232)
  5. J. Baez (2140)