Skip to content

Pirates, Garrett Jones had arbitration hearing Wednesday

Feb 15, 2012, 8:49 PM EDT

garrett jones ap AP

From the Associated Press, via, comes word that the Pirates engaged in a salary arbitration hearing on Wednesday afternoon with outfielder-first baseman Garrett Jones.

Jones requested a salary of $2.5 million and was offered $2.25 million from the Bucs when arbitration figures were exchanged last month. Despite the mere $250,000 gap, the two sides were unable to reach a compromise. Thus, a three-person panel of independent arbitrators will be tasked with choosing between one of the two submitted figures Thursday.

Jones batted .243/.321/.433 with 16 home runs and 58 RBI across 477 plate appearances last season for Pittsburgh while earning a salary ($450,000) just north of the league minimum. The 30-year-old will be eligible for salary arbitration three more times before getting a crack at the free agent market heading into 2016.

  1. randygnyc - Feb 15, 2012 at 10:32 PM

    Write it down, Jones is gone by July 31. He’ll be on a contender, never looking back. There’s obviously some bad blood to go to arbitration over such a small figure.

    • florida76 - Feb 15, 2012 at 11:49 PM

      No one knows what will happen with Jones. The NL Central should be wide open, and up to four teams could be in competition for either the division, or maybe a wildcard. The teams who will be sellers at the deadline will be out of the money long ago, like the Mariners or Orioles from the AL.

  2. rooney24 - Feb 15, 2012 at 11:14 PM

    He is already 30, and not a free agent until 2016 (unless he plays poorly enough to be cut). Something tells me he won’t ever land that huge payday. Not that most of us wouldn’t trade spots with him in a heartbeat….

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2528)
  2. D. Span (2366)
  3. G. Stanton (2312)
  4. Y. Puig (2266)
  5. J. Fernandez (2229)
  1. B. Crawford (2127)
  2. G. Springer (2061)
  3. M. Teixeira (1845)
  4. M. Sano (1830)
  5. J. Hamilton (1770)