Skip to content

Bryan LaHair is in The Best Shape of His Life

Feb 23, 2012, 11:33 AM EDT

Bryan LaHair

Bryan LaHair was the MVP of the Pacific Coast League last year.  Yes, Iowa is in the Pacific Coast League. Just let it go.

But he’s not content to rest on those laurels. He’s cranking it to 11, BSOHL-style!

“I’m about as ready as I can be,” he said. “I’m probably in the best shape of my life. I’m twice as strong as I was last year and one year older, so that’s all good.”

I’m sure that declaration is 100% about his actual physical shape and is in now way meant to signal to team brass that he should be given the starting first baseman’s job over Anthony Rizzo.

  1. westsideculture - Feb 23, 2012 at 11:48 AM

    I gotta say I love the ‘Best Shape of his Life’ and ‘Not Best Shape of his Life’ theme….

  2. jason1214 - Feb 23, 2012 at 11:50 AM

    Good luck Brian, my guess is unless you are a late bloomer, you’ll pull PK duty for 5-6 months max, and then you’ll be moved to LF when Rizzo is ready and Alfonso is dealt. That being said my over/under for “months @ 1st base” is 3.

  3. proudlycanadian - Feb 23, 2012 at 11:52 AM

    Doesn’t count. There is no independent verification.

  4. kopy - Feb 23, 2012 at 11:56 AM

    Official 2012 BSOHL Roster

    Bryan LaHair – CHC
    Mat Gamel – MIL
    Joe Saunders – ARI
    Danny Valencia – MIN
    Chris Davis – BAL
    Brandon McCarthy – OAK
    Anthony Swarzak – MIN
    Billy Butler – KC
    Mike Moustakas – KC
    Russell Martin – NYY
    Jason Grilli – PIT
    Jed Lowrie – HOU
    Logan Schafer – MIL
    Lance Lynn – STL
    Phil Hughes – NYY
    Bill Hall – NYY
    Yadier Molina – STL
    Evan Longoria – TB
    Brett Cecil – TOR
    Freddie Freeman – ATL
    Brian Wilson – SFO
    Jason Heyward – ATL
    Casey McGehee – PIT
    Chris Tillman – BAL
    Franklin Gutierrez – SEA
    Miguel Olivo – SEA
    Miguel Cabrera – DET
    Justin Smoak – SEA
    Dexter Fowler – COL
    Jaime Garcia – STL
    Miguel Tejada – FA
    Aubrey Huff – SFO
    Vicente Padilla – BOS
    Carlos Zambrano – MIA
    Yonder Alonso – SD
    Mark Teixeira – NYY
    Dmitri Young – FA
    Yoenis Cespedes – OAK

    • okobojicat - Feb 23, 2012 at 12:09 PM

      3B: Longoria, Moustakas, McGehee, Valencia
      1B: Cabrera , Teixera, Butler, Alonzo, Freeman, Smoak, Young, Gamel, Davis, LaHair
      SS: Lowrie
      Middle Infielders who shouldn’t really be anywhere near SS: Tejada, Hall
      C: Martin, Molina, Olivo
      CF: Guitierrez, Fowler
      R/LF: Heyward, Cespedes

      Everyone else is a pitcher, or a minor leaguer

      Team 1
      CF – Guitierrez
      RF – Heyward
      3B – Longoria
      DH – Cabrera
      1B – Teixera
      LF – Cespedes
      SS – Lowrie
      C – Martin
      2B – Hall

      S1 – Garcia
      S2 – McCarthy
      S3 – Hughes
      S4 – Zambrano
      S5 – Cecil
      CL – Wilson

      Team 2
      CF – Fowler
      3B – Moustakas
      DH – Butler
      1B – Alonzo
      ‘LF’ – Freeman
      ‘RF’ – Smoak
      C – Molina
      ’2B’ – Valencia – yes, I’d rather have him there than McGehee
      “SS” – Tejada

      S1 – Tillman
      S2 – Saunders
      S3 – Swarzak
      ‘S4′ – Padilla

      More 1B…grr. We need some middle infielders. Where is Pedroia, Cano, Kinsler? Why aren’t they showing up in the best shape of their lives…

  5. paperlions - Feb 23, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    Being another year older might be good for a young guy….but he’s already 29 and somehow has amassed over 2500 plate appearance at AAA over 6 seasons.

  6. WhenMattStairsIsKing - Feb 23, 2012 at 12:29 PM

    I think players use that terminology on purpose, I swear.

    At first I read that as him saying he’s twice as old as he was last year and one year stronger. I like what my sleepy eyes think they see sometimes.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2864)
  2. C. Correa (2672)
  3. Y. Puig (2595)
  4. G. Stanton (2574)
  5. G. Springer (2546)
  1. H. Pence (2420)
  2. H. Ramirez (2273)
  3. J. Hamilton (2253)
  4. M. Teixeira (2211)
  5. J. Baez (2129)