Skip to content

The Cubs will play with computers live on video tonight

Feb 28, 2012, 11:34 AM EDT

Cubs logo

This is kind of neat.

Back in January we learned that the Cubs had made it to the 21st century by forming a partnership with Bloomberg Sports to design a new player-evaluation system.  Very statty for the historically non-statty Cubs.

Tonight will live stream a thing — they’re calling it a “chalk talk” — in which Cubs’ assistant GM Shiraz Rehman and Bloomberg will show off some of the technology in question, talking about player evaluation and analytics and stuff.  Cubs fans will be excused if they do spit takes when high-ranking Cubs officials say things about players other than “he’s a ballplayer; looks like a ballplayer, ya know?”

It streams at 8PM Eastern at this link at

  1. cur68 - Feb 28, 2012 at 11:42 AM

    Will they finally have a way to quantify “scrap” & “grit”? The “Scrappy-grit Index”? Whatever it is, its probably measured in Ecksteins.

    • jwbiii - Feb 28, 2012 at 12:28 PM

      This is the Cubs. They use the Neifi scale.

      • cur68 - Feb 28, 2012 at 1:25 PM


  2. drkincaid - Feb 28, 2012 at 12:34 PM

    Saw the Bloomberg sports tool at an event last month at U of Chicago Booth. It’s incredible, and we were told the Cubs went from not using it to becoming their biggest clients. Bloomberg gave teams a free trial when it first came out but less than 2/3 of teams use it. The feature shown allows clubs and individual subscribers to select any situation (1-2 count, runner on 2nd, 1 run lead after 6th inning for any pitcher) and check the stats/pitch location, and even watch a conglomeration of 10 second video clips of the pitches. Without knowing the cost I couldn’t figure out what team would NOT want this.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2548)
  2. D. Span (2383)
  3. G. Stanton (2353)
  4. Y. Puig (2294)
  5. J. Fernandez (2254)
  1. B. Crawford (2175)
  2. G. Springer (2104)
  3. M. Teixeira (1963)
  4. M. Sano (1844)
  5. J. Hamilton (1838)