Skip to content

Mets lose lefty reliever Tim Byrdak to knee surgery

Mar 12, 2012, 4:22 PM EDT

Tim Byrdak Getty Images

UPDATE: General manager Sandy Alderson expects Byrdak to be ready for game action in about six weeks, which could mean a late-April debut.


Scott Hairston‘s oblique injury means the Mets may look to a converted left-handed pitcher to serve as their backup center fielder and now Tim Byrdak‘s knee injury means they’re in need of an actual left-handed pitcher for the bullpen.

Byrdak is scheduled to undergo knee surgery to repair a torn meniscus, which at the very least will keep him sidelined beyond Opening Day.

Byrdak signed a one-year, $1 million extension with the Mets in September and was slated to be their left-handed specialist after throwing 38 innings with a 3.82 ERA and 47/19 K/BB ratio last season. At age 38 how well he’ll come back from knee surgery is unclear, but Byrdak has quietly posted a sub-4.00 ERA in each season since 2007 and held lefties to a .222 batting average in 2011.

  1. Old Gator - Mar 12, 2012 at 1:06 PM

    I first noticed this last year, and it may only be because with substantially less actual baseball on the field activity going on the injury reports loom larger in the media, but…dear Buddha, the past couple of spring training periods have read like an orgy of immolations during some Mesoamerican solar holiday festival. I bet that orthopedic surgeons are rushing to Arizona and Florida like tort lawyers to a plane crash site.

  2. phukyouk - Mar 12, 2012 at 1:18 PM

    these poor mets.. I really think that they must have sacrificed a virgin to the wrong god or something…

    • Old Gator - Mar 12, 2012 at 4:24 PM

      I have no use for virgins myself, so I can’t imagine that a god would.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2546)
  2. D. Span (2383)
  3. G. Stanton (2347)
  4. Y. Puig (2292)
  5. J. Fernandez (2253)
  1. B. Crawford (2171)
  2. G. Springer (2100)
  3. M. Teixeira (1952)
  4. M. Sano (1843)
  5. J. Hamilton (1820)